Chef John's French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Still awesome! Only edit is to double the mixture if your using "country" type wider slices or thick cuts. I chopped up some apples and coated w allspice, cinnamon, pumpkin spice and a little honey. Baked at 350 for 20-30 and used as topping MMM! Also, out of of powdered sugar so put granulated sugar into the blender. Instant powdered ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This made an amazing breakfast - Breakfast for 4 and we all agreed - 5 Stars!! Wife and daughter added chopped almonds and they loved it. We all added a simple syrup (equal parts brown/white sugar and water - not as sweet as it sounds). Baking really firms up what could otherwise be a soggy bread. Nice & crispy - use a good bakery bread - not pre-sliced - and you'll be much happier with your own thick cuts of French Toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Very good... but no better, really, than the recipes we have tried previously. I can see where someone who likes well done, firm, dry french toast might like this better though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Really need to start with thick bread, like the 1" + size referenced. I used regular sliced sourdough and it dried out a bit. Still love the taste and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This recipe was very easy to make, and I was happy with the texture of the end result. However, the allspice was a bit too much for my taste. I think I will keep the method, but tweak the spice ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I'll start off by apologizing to Chef John. I wanted to make this when I read the recipe and watched the video. Took a look in my bread box, didn't have any thick bread or the Wheat French Bread as mentioned, all I had was regular bread and some thick frozen waffles, blueberry at that - Moved forward anyway, following the rest of the recipe ingredients to the letter, from the stove top to the oven, sprinkled with Powered Sugar and drizzled with Maple Syrup - The good thing, they turned out great, the family loved them and they are hard to please - Will definitely make these again, but will go to the store first - James
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAXYBONE
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
this recipe is fantastic!!! loved having it in the oven but not needing to take all the time baked french toast normally takes. looked so pretty.... and tasted fantastic!!! i have yet to find s chef john recipe i didn't like thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Outstanding, like all of Chef John's recipes! Just one question, C. J.; where's the pinch of cayenne? ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This was the best French Toast I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
French toast is OK, but I think what I don't like about it is the custard-y texture. This recipe is crisp and yummy! Great flavors. Cooking on the stove and then crisping in the oven is wonderful. Also helps to make sure that everyone is eating a hot meal together. Made it for "breakfast for dinner" tonight. Definitely will be something we make again---for breakfast/brunch/dinner. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spangle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States