Chef John's French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Loved this! I will never make French toast another way. Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toni Burnett
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Loved this recipe. Easy to follow and tasty results!!!! I would add maple syrup and fresh strawberries too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Burnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I wanted to see the video but all I get is that stupid "if I only knew I would never have sold Iowa". I get that so much I have come to hate Iowa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Very good and crispy. Didn't have french bread but used homemade bread and instead of allspice I used sugar. Very good. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Zufelt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This is the way my Mom always made it except that she also added a little sugar and did not use allspice. We always made sure to have some left over that we used for peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. My kids grew up with this also and as adults we still like the PB & J with any that's left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Wow! I'm not a chef and that's how I do it! I make a batter with eggs, milk, NUTMEG, CARDAMON, allspice, cinnamon, and vanilla. I just don't throw it in the oven. Maybe I will the next time I do French Toast. I use "gazillion grain and seed bread." Usually "Dave's Killer Bread" brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Gaebe Bishop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
We loved this french toast! Crispy on the outside, fluffy in the middle. Thanks alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Well, like most everyone else said, "who knew"?" It is just as easy &tasty as advertised. I loved how crunchy it was on the outside but still a delight inside. Cooked it in oven at 375 degrees for ten minutes because all I had was regular slices of French bread. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Profesrebel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I used to make French toast without baking but I love this way so much more! I used wholewheat bread and didn't add much all spice and it turned out well. Maybe next time I would add a bit more cinnamon. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
My family has been doing this for about three generations. I for one detest having the spices added, then again, I don't like syrup on my French toast, or waffles, just lots of butter. And oh, don't sprinkle powdered sugar on mine either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States