Chef John's French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
After making Chef John's recipe I won't go back to the "other" way of making French toast. I used to buy Texas Toast, not any more! It is better than most restaurant French Toast recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I made this today and it was absolutely divine! The best ever! We tried them with honey, with Maple syryp, and I topped one with banana. Heaven!! ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
It was good but certainly not worth turning my oven on for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alan Salkowitz
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Use King's Hawaiian Sweet Bread or Challah with this recipe and it will be the breakfast you ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan Salkowitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Loved this! I will never make French toast another way. Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toni Burnett
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Loved this recipe. Easy to follow and tasty results!!!! I would add maple syrup and fresh strawberries too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Burnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Very good and crispy. Didn't have french bread but used homemade bread and instead of allspice I used sugar. Very good. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Zufelt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This is the way my Mom always made it except that she also added a little sugar and did not use allspice. We always made sure to have some left over that we used for peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. My kids grew up with this also and as adults we still like the PB & J with any that's left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Wow! I'm not a chef and that's how I do it! I make a batter with eggs, milk, NUTMEG, CARDAMON, allspice, cinnamon, and vanilla. I just don't throw it in the oven. Maybe I will the next time I do French Toast. I use "gazillion grain and seed bread." Usually "Dave's Killer Bread" brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Gaebe Bishop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States