Chef John's French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This recipe was very easy to make, and I was happy with the texture of the end result. However, the allspice was a bit too much for my taste. I think I will keep the method, but tweak the spice ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I'll start off by apologizing to Chef John. I wanted to make this when I read the recipe and watched the video. Took a look in my bread box, didn't have any thick bread or the Wheat French Bread as mentioned, all I had was regular bread and some thick frozen waffles, blueberry at that - Moved forward anyway, following the rest of the recipe ingredients to the letter, from the stove top to the oven, sprinkled with Powered Sugar and drizzled with Maple Syrup - The good thing, they turned out great, the family loved them and they are hard to please - Will definitely make these again, but will go to the store first - James
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAXYBONE
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
this recipe is fantastic!!! loved having it in the oven but not needing to take all the time baked french toast normally takes. looked so pretty.... and tasted fantastic!!! i have yet to find s chef john recipe i didn't like thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Outstanding, like all of Chef John's recipes! Just one question, C. J.; where's the pinch of cayenne? ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This was the best French Toast I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
French toast is OK, but I think what I don't like about it is the custard-y texture. This recipe is crisp and yummy! Great flavors. Cooking on the stove and then crisping in the oven is wonderful. Also helps to make sure that everyone is eating a hot meal together. Made it for "breakfast for dinner" tonight. Definitely will be something we make again---for breakfast/brunch/dinner. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spangle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
UH MA ZING! Thank you Chef John for another 5 star hit :-) After trying your perfect mashed potatoes recipe, I always look for your version for what I'm looking to cook up. All who've sat down at my dinner table think I'm a rather excellent cook and I have your influence to thank for it! Keep em comin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Easy and simple in taste! Added Splenda to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I have fallen inlove with French toast again! Love the allspice & crispy texture!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Wow! I've been making french toast for years and thought I was doing it right..."if it ain't broke don't fix it". I never knew about a "classic restaurant method". I just did it the way my Mom and Grandma taught me and never would have thought to lightly fry and place it in the oven. Since I love french toast I had to give this a try and I was pleasantly surprised. This came out crisp, light, fluffy and just plain delicious. I topped it with a dusting of powdered sugar and REAL maple syrup. It was perfect served with fresh fruit and OJ! Thanks for a great recipe Chef John and an update on a truly classic breakfast favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States