Chef John's French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
My husband and I made these french fries tonight and they were out of this world. Just fries with a light dusting of kosher salt. We followed the directions to the tee. The only thing different is that I don't have a dutch oven so I used my cast iron chicken fryer. I was only frying 3 potatoes cut rather thick. The outside was so nice and crisp and the inside was like biting into a baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Great method! So simple and come out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Followed exactly and the fries were great. I used my electric frying pan to make adjusting the temps easy. It wasn't messy, really no splatter. I strained the oil to reuse. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lathrup Village, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tera Richardson-Ezell
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Great recipe !!!! They came out perfect !!! I will always do my fries this way. I finished it off with a little sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Absolutely fab. We don't want french fried potatoes often, but when we do, this is the go to recipe. Yes, it takes extra time, but great fries are worth the effort. How fortunate that we have "Chef" willing to share some secrets. I'm working through many of his recipes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Best fries I've ever made. Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This is exactly how the famous Belgian Fries are made. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I gave this only 4 stars simply due to the double deep-frying, which is how I used to make them (like most restaurants do). Then I discovered simply par-boiling my cut fries, for about 2 minutes, draining them, and then wrapping them in clean dish towels to cool.. the towels absorb all moisture from the potatoes. Another good tip is, for crispier fries, drain your fried fries in brown paper bags; paper towels tend to soften them, plus it's easier to shake them up with salt in the brown paper bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
My mother (and me) was born in Belgium. She always made her French fries like this. I'm 68 and I'm still making my fries this way - nothing better than the old "tried and true" recipes, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puppyluv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Fantastic! Double frying really made a difference, used golden potatoes (what I had) and the flavor was great :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Chef John’s Patatas Bravas

See how to make “fierce” and flavorful crispy Spanish potatoes.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States