Chef John's Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
First time ever making tortillas. I am living in Ecuador and right now you can't find them in any stores nearby. Now I consider myself fortunate. I never knew they could be so easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly. To flatten mine I put down half of a clean clear plastic food bag on the table; another one over the top of the dough and flattened with a pan. Worked fine for me, although when I get home I will probably buy a press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
These turned out great! We loved them! Soft, chewy, and gone in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Heed the warning! I'm spoiled for store bought tortillas now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I’ve never made tortillas before and I was surprised at how easy it was. They came out perfect. Personally, I prefer them rolled out individually rather than using a tortilla press because I love that they have a more rustic, homemade appearance and don’t look manufactured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
great recipe. He is right. I am never going back to packaged tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
These were so legit! My husband said that they were the best he has ever eaten. We'll never purchase tortillas from a grocery store again! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-Ko Cookin
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Fabulous. I used 1 cup white flour and 3/4 wheat flour. I tried to make tortillas before and they were good, but not this good. The dough came out so perfect and was very easy to work with. My kids love them! I think it took me about 10 minutes to make. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmtroch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
These are so much better than store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindy_tx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
In Sri Lanka we call this Rotti made as per John's recipe or with coconut flakes. If coconut flakes are added to the flour and made this dough it gives a lovely aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colombo, Western, Sri Lanka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Tastes WAYYYYYY better than store bought ! I used butter instead of shortening came out fantastic!!! very easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States