Chef John's Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Great recipe. Awesome with the stated shortening, but if you're like me and want a lower fat one, you can get a great result with 2 tablespoons shortening (just be aware you may need to adjust the water if reducing the shortening). I double the recipe and keep the leftovers (if any) wrapped in plastic for the morning. Just put it back on a hot skillet for a minute each side and it becomes soft and pliable again. Scramble and egg, add cheese, and you have great breakfast burritoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
When I first made these, I was planning on having to later run to the store to buy tortillas because I didn't think that I would be able to make these, since I am terrible at making bread. My end result was exactly what they are supposed to look like. and they tasted much better than store bought tortillas. I was very impressed by this recipe, I found that the video was very very helpful. I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. To be completely honest, I did burn one (oops) because I forgot about them on the stove while doing dishes :) But that was my fault. I wouldn't change the recipe at all, just remember to stay at the stove the whole time. Thank you Chef John for sharing this great recipe, I will be looking into your other delicious looking recipes, they look amazing. Oh, and I did not use a tortilla press, I used a rolling pin. They were very fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Great recipe, very easy to make. If using a tortilla press, ask your local florist for a few sheets of their clear wrap for flowers. Much easier to use with the press, one sheet can be cut into many pieces. Makes this recipe even easier to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I thought these were alright. The tutorial video was very helpful. Watch it for tips, and definitely use the tortilla press. I learned from making corn tortillas that they are a lot quicker to make on a pancake griddle. The recipe I have used in the past uses vegetable oil instead of shortening. I prefer that, much more, because these were a little heavier, thick, and doughier than what I have made in the past and had a floury after taste I have not experienced in other recipes. I found that a temp. of 350 deg. on the pancake griddle was best for getting the puff, like Chef John illustrates in the video. Was interesting to try a new recipe, but will stick with the vegetable oil version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I've made my own tortillas a few times with different recipes from this site. I used this recipe exactly. I thought I'd try this out one but I wasn't too pleased with it. I think it had too much shortening and made them taste a little gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
First time ever making tortillas. I am living in Ecuador and right now you can't find them in any stores nearby. Now I consider myself fortunate. I never knew they could be so easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly. To flatten mine I put down half of a clean clear plastic food bag on the table; another one over the top of the dough and flattened with a pan. Worked fine for me, although when I get home I will probably buy a press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Excellent recipe. Couple of tips for the first timer... 1. Use HOT water. 2. Kneed it on a warm surface... your hands, in the bowl, or whatever. You don't want the dough to cool off because of a cold surface. 3. Keep it warm while resting. If your house is on the cool side then treat it like yeast bread and put it in a cold oven over hot water. The point is the dough NEEDS to stay warm. If you let it cool it won't puff like it should and it won't taste as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I've made these a few times and they never turn out as good looking as on the video. I'm not sure what I did wrong! they tasted more like an Indian flat bread than a tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
We loved this recipe! We have 5 boys and like the burrito size a double reipe makes 8 burrito size tortillas. I have a large ammount of the dry ingrediants pre mixed so all I have to do is measure out 4 cups of mix, add 1/2 cup plus 1 Tbsp shortning and 1 cup water. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cerrid1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I live in Tucson, AZ and I have tried many different varieties of tortilla. The "La Estrella" brand is the only ones I buy...until now. This recipe is really good. The tortillas end up with good flavor, they are soft and easy to make. Although, if I make this again, I will be buying a tortilla press. TIP1: Add a little honey to the dough. This helps bring out more flavor. TIP2: If you want to have a fresh tortilla every time, you can freeze the uncooked dough in zip-locks. This way they don't dry out over time, and they stay pliable because you cook them on the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States