Chef John's Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Great recipe, very easy to make. If using a tortilla press, ask your local florist for a few sheets of their clear wrap for flowers. Much easier to use with the press, one sheet can be cut into many pieces. Makes this recipe even easier to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Great recipe. Awesome with the stated shortening, but if you're like me and want a lower fat one, you can get a great result with 2 tablespoons shortening (just be aware you may need to adjust the water if reducing the shortening). I double the recipe and keep the leftovers (if any) wrapped in plastic for the morning. Just put it back on a hot skillet for a minute each side and it becomes soft and pliable again. Scramble and egg, add cheese, and you have great breakfast burritoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
When I first made these, I was planning on having to later run to the store to buy tortillas because I didn't think that I would be able to make these, since I am terrible at making bread. My end result was exactly what they are supposed to look like. and they tasted much better than store bought tortillas. I was very impressed by this recipe, I found that the video was very very helpful. I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. To be completely honest, I did burn one (oops) because I forgot about them on the stove while doing dishes :) But that was my fault. I wouldn't change the recipe at all, just remember to stay at the stove the whole time. Thank you Chef John for sharing this great recipe, I will be looking into your other delicious looking recipes, they look amazing. Oh, and I did not use a tortilla press, I used a rolling pin. They were very fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I thought these were alright. The tutorial video was very helpful. Watch it for tips, and definitely use the tortilla press. I learned from making corn tortillas that they are a lot quicker to make on a pancake griddle. The recipe I have used in the past uses vegetable oil instead of shortening. I prefer that, much more, because these were a little heavier, thick, and doughier than what I have made in the past and had a floury after taste I have not experienced in other recipes. I found that a temp. of 350 deg. on the pancake griddle was best for getting the puff, like Chef John illustrates in the video. Was interesting to try a new recipe, but will stick with the vegetable oil version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I've made these a few times and they never turn out as good looking as on the video. I'm not sure what I did wrong! they tasted more like an Indian flat bread than a tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
First time ever making tortillas. I am living in Ecuador and right now you can't find them in any stores nearby. Now I consider myself fortunate. I never knew they could be so easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly. To flatten mine I put down half of a clean clear plastic food bag on the table; another one over the top of the dough and flattened with a pan. Worked fine for me, although when I get home I will probably buy a press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
great recipe. He is right. I am never going back to packaged tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
These were so legit! My husband said that they were the best he has ever eaten. We'll never purchase tortillas from a grocery store again! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-Ko Cookin
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Fabulous. I used 1 cup white flour and 3/4 wheat flour. I tried to make tortillas before and they were good, but not this good. The dough came out so perfect and was very easy to work with. My kids love them! I think it took me about 10 minutes to make. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmtroch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
These are so much better than store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindy_tx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States