Chef John's Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
These turned out better than when I tried the tortilla mix flour. I even messed up a little with the baking powder but I guess it's pretty much fool proof. Now I just need to learn how to roll it into a circle and I'll never buy store tortillas again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Made this recipe exactly as is. I wouldn't change a thing! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was an easy recipe with really tasty results. I used unsalted butter because I didn't have any shortening. I have been looking for a recipe that would make soft tortillas, and this worked beautifully. I mixed it by hand according to instructions, then kneaded it with my kitchenaid with a dough hook (due to a bad shoulder- I can't knead.) I also flattened and cooked them (at the same time) with a CucinaPro Tortilla maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
My nine year old granddaughter followed this recipes with very little supervision. The tortillas turned out excellent! Now I have to convince her she can double the recipe with the same results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YaYa24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Excellent recipe. Couple of tips for the first timer... 1. Use HOT water. 2. Kneed it on a warm surface... your hands, in the bowl, or whatever. You don't want the dough to cool off because of a cold surface. 3. Keep it warm while resting. If your house is on the cool side then treat it like yeast bread and put it in a cold oven over hot water. The point is the dough NEEDS to stay warm. If you let it cool it won't puff like it should and it won't taste as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This was my first time trying to make homemade flour tortillas. This was a very easy recipe and I did enjoy eating them hot with butter. The tortillas tasted slightly of uncooked flour. The only thing I will do different next time is to cook them at a slightly lower temperature so they cook a little longer. Maybe that will take care of the floury taste. Other than that I can certainly live with them just as they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clk103197

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I love love love these! So moist..just like at mexican restaurants! It's hard not to eat them as you make them. Never buying store bought. These were actually really easy to make as well. I made them in about 15-20 but I'm a slow cook. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Could not be more simple. I used my kitchen aid to make the dough to make it even easier. Love that they are from scratch - no preservatives, no lard or other weird ingredients and tastes super fresh. I doubt I'll ever buy tortillas from the store again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Loved the taste, but I did not have tortilla press and they did not come out very large after pressing with another pan. Taste was excellent, so of course I have to give it a top rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Amazing recipe! I make mine healthier with 1c of whole wheat flour and olive oil instead of shortening. My family loves them. I make a big batch and freeze them for a quicker dinner later on! Thanks chef john!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Chef John's Flatbread

See how to turn water and flour into delicious, super-easy flatbread.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States