Chef John's Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I love love love these! So moist..just like at mexican restaurants! It's hard not to eat them as you make them. Never buying store bought. These were actually really easy to make as well. I made them in about 15-20 but I'm a slow cook. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Could not be more simple. I used my kitchen aid to make the dough to make it even easier. Love that they are from scratch - no preservatives, no lard or other weird ingredients and tastes super fresh. I doubt I'll ever buy tortillas from the store again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Loved the taste, but I did not have tortilla press and they did not come out very large after pressing with another pan. Taste was excellent, so of course I have to give it a top rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Amazing recipe! I make mine healthier with 1c of whole wheat flour and olive oil instead of shortening. My family loves them. I make a big batch and freeze them for a quicker dinner later on! Thanks chef john!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I've made this a bunch of times and they usually shrink when I cook them and don't puff up, what am I doing wrong, I follow the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
We loved this recipe! We have 5 boys and like the burrito size a double reipe makes 8 burrito size tortillas. I have a large ammount of the dry ingrediants pre mixed so all I have to do is measure out 4 cups of mix, add 1/2 cup plus 1 Tbsp shortning and 1 cup water. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cerrid1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I have prepared this recipe over 6 times now, time after time they come out perfect! And, although I have been substituting wheat with spelt (for a gluten free recipe), they still come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
The dough was very easy to work with. They did puff up and tasted great. They did come out stiffer and crunchier than I was expecting. Still fold-able without cracking but then crispy too. I tried to pile them up and cover them with foil to sort of steam them while I was cooking the rest of the batch. Maybe a spray bottle next time to steam them while they're cooking. They were nice and brown and didn't seem like I cooked them too long but maybe that's what made them crunchy. I would give this recipe another go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
great recipe! ive made these a few times now, and i definetely recommend using a cast iron pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Guaranteed success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zaizou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States