Chef John's Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
We loved this recipe! We have 5 boys and like the burrito size a double reipe makes 8 burrito size tortillas. I have a large ammount of the dry ingrediants pre mixed so all I have to do is measure out 4 cups of mix, add 1/2 cup plus 1 Tbsp shortning and 1 cup water. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cerrid1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I have prepared this recipe over 6 times now, time after time they come out perfect! And, although I have been substituting wheat with spelt (for a gluten free recipe), they still come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
The dough was very easy to work with. They did puff up and tasted great. They did come out stiffer and crunchier than I was expecting. Still fold-able without cracking but then crispy too. I tried to pile them up and cover them with foil to sort of steam them while I was cooking the rest of the batch. Maybe a spray bottle next time to steam them while they're cooking. They were nice and brown and didn't seem like I cooked them too long but maybe that's what made them crunchy. I would give this recipe another go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
great recipe! ive made these a few times now, and i definetely recommend using a cast iron pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Guaranteed success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zaizou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I have no idea what happened - but I did not get a "ball" of dough, I got a bowl of crumbs. I had to add 1.5 cups of hot water and 1/2 cup of shortening to get anything like a ball of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Great recipe! I have to admit that I switched out the shortening for lard because thats my preference. They are deeeeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 777LIV777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
So easy to make and so good. Mine were really thick but thats ok too. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My only comment is, do yourself a favor by using self rising flour ! Just sayin......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I have tried many many tortilla recipes...this is by far the best. Followed it exactly, and it was great! glad I can finally stop searching for a great tortilla recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States