Chef John's Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I love these tortillas! They are done (including mixing batter, rest, rolling, baking) in no more than 45 minutes. It took me 4 tortillas to figure out that greasing the pan is what makes them weird but after I ditched the oil they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made this recipe to a T and they turned out very good. Easy to roll out--I could even roll paper-thin. They were fluffy and formed bubbles when I cooked them. We have a cast iron tortilla pan--but in the past we have only ever used store bought. Tortillas will be coming off of my shopping list from now on. I actually cut the last few balls in half again so I could roll them thinner and they'd still fit in the pan. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I tried two different tortilla recipes from this site - this one and "homemade flour tortillas" posted by LaDonna. Chef John has best tasting recipe by far. They do have a lot more vegetable shortening than the other recipe though, so I might cut it back a tiny bit next time I make them. They rolled out nicely, cooked well (be aware the skillet needs to be quite hot) and had lots of nice air pockets and bubbles. They seem to be a bit smaller than 8 inches though, perhaps I need to roll it thinner next time. Overall highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
My first time making homemade tortillas. They came out great! I used lard instead of Crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Thanks for the recipe! We don't buy shortening - we used stick margarine. Rolled out by hand & cooked on cast iron skillet. These really were fabulous! Saved me a trip to the store and far superior to store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cclampkin
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great and simple recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cclampkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
so good won't buy store bought anymore!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
They where really good, I was sorta trying to find the recipe or something very close to it, for Taco Cabanas tortillas. This dough could be used for pasta, or pizza to, in my opinion. If you don't ad enough butter to this recipe, or veg shorting, I used butter, the tortillas are very hard to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MerryWhitney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
In South Africa tortillas are ridiculously expensive. This was cheap, easy and it tasted 100 times better than any supermarket version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States