Chef John's Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Kylene
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I never thought making homemade tortillas would be so simple! They were perfect and yummy. So easy and delicious that I'm planning to buy a press just to cut down the time. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah Kay
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is the first time I made tortilla. Never imagine I could make my own and it's delicious. I don't have shortening in my kitchen so I substitute with butter. I used non stick skillet and flip the tortilla often for every 2 seconds to make it puffy. I eat my broiled fish topped with roasted tomato wrapped in tortilla for lunch. Yummy! Thanks Chef John for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Another great recipe from Chef John! These were so delicious and so easy. I used my Kitchenaid stand mixer and rolled them out. Let the dough rest for a while and they'll be really to roll. Everyone's right in that we'll never go back to store-bought again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Yum-o. Tasted great. But unless you have a tortilla press you might want to double the recipe. They are pretty hard to make super thin and the size you'd want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wigglysloth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Great Recipe! I had never made Tortillas before and was a little worried that it wouldn't turn out at all...but it tuned out amazing and didn't take long at all. Followed the recipe exactly and rolled them out with a rolling pin. The first batch was a touch too thick for our liking but they tasted great. The following day I made them again, this time doubling the recipe and making large shells for Tacos. I rolled them out and then stretched them a little more by hand until I was able to see through them. They turned out much better than store bought ones. They were stronger and tasted much better. Will be using this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Handewitt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Great recipe! This is the traditional way my mother makes it. For a gluten free version, can I replace the all purpose flour for brown rice flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This is the recipe I've been looking for! This is as close to the Guerrero tortillas that my family loves from the grocery as I can get. For more authentic flavor, I used tortilla flour and lard as the fat. Something important you should note, the quantity of dough in this recipe makes eight 8 inch round tortillas. So if you are looking for a 12" burrito size you will want to double it. This is the first recipe that I have tried that I was able to roll the tortillas out as thin as they needed to be in order to cook properly and be flexible and also the only one that they didn't tear when I lifted them to toss in the pan. I have also learned trying all these different recipes that the longer you let them rest, the bigger you can roll them. I roll them out on a piece of parchment paper so that I don't need to add any extra flour which can ruin the taste when the flour scorches in the pan. They come out perfect every time, the only problem I have is how fast they disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Fowler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I have made these three different ways: first, as the recipe is written; second, using vegetable oil instead of the shortening; and lastly, using butter. All had favoruable results. The best way was with butter as they were the softest with the most flavour. After cooking they keep well before serving in a warmed corning ware dish with lid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I made these last night (and then made chicken mole enchiladas, but that's another good story....) They were so easy to make and did not take 1.25 hours as per the instructions, probably because I used my food processor, so it took about 40 minutes from start to finish. I had to use butter because I can never remember to buy vegetable shortening and they were still out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Mewowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Delicious. Burnt the first couple as the skillet was a little too hot but turned down to medium and they came out fluffy, easy to roll and perfect for carne asada and mexican rice and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States