Chef John's Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Great Recipe! I had never made Tortillas before and was a little worried that it wouldn't turn out at all...but it tuned out amazing and didn't take long at all. Followed the recipe exactly and rolled them out with a rolling pin. The first batch was a touch too thick for our liking but they tasted great. The following day I made them again, this time doubling the recipe and making large shells for Tacos. I rolled them out and then stretched them a little more by hand until I was able to see through them. They turned out much better than store bought ones. They were stronger and tasted much better. Will be using this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Handewitt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Great recipe! This is the traditional way my mother makes it. For a gluten free version, can I replace the all purpose flour for brown rice flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This is the recipe I've been looking for! This is as close to the Guerrero tortillas that my family loves from the grocery as I can get. For more authentic flavor, I used tortilla flour and lard as the fat. Something important you should note, the quantity of dough in this recipe makes eight 8 inch round tortillas. So if you are looking for a 12" burrito size you will want to double it. This is the first recipe that I have tried that I was able to roll the tortillas out as thin as they needed to be in order to cook properly and be flexible and also the only one that they didn't tear when I lifted them to toss in the pan. I have also learned trying all these different recipes that the longer you let them rest, the bigger you can roll them. I roll them out on a piece of parchment paper so that I don't need to add any extra flour which can ruin the taste when the flour scorches in the pan. They come out perfect every time, the only problem I have is how fast they disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Fowler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I have made these three different ways: first, as the recipe is written; second, using vegetable oil instead of the shortening; and lastly, using butter. All had favoruable results. The best way was with butter as they were the softest with the most flavour. After cooking they keep well before serving in a warmed corning ware dish with lid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I made these last night (and then made chicken mole enchiladas, but that's another good story....) They were so easy to make and did not take 1.25 hours as per the instructions, probably because I used my food processor, so it took about 40 minutes from start to finish. I had to use butter because I can never remember to buy vegetable shortening and they were still out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Mewowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Delicious. Burnt the first couple as the skillet was a little too hot but turned down to medium and they came out fluffy, easy to roll and perfect for carne asada and mexican rice and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
These were great! Followed the recipe exactly and they were nice and puffy and chewy. I rolled them really thin and they held up super well! Really good reheated too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah.antoinette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This recipe works very well and tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Really easy to make and very tasty. I doubled the recipe, and there was not even a crumb left after our meal! I also went one step further and put them in the oven to crisp up and use as Taco shells and they worked a real treat....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
These were good! I think I overworked my dough some because I had a lot of trouble to get them to flatten, but I made it work. Used this for just plain ol' tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States