Chef John's Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
These were really easy and delicious! The video was really helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This recipe did not work for me. I've made it 3 times and each and every time the tortillas turned out like flat hard disks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe and vegan friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Authentic taste. You have to follow instructions precisely. Knead the dough to prevent flakiness and to get a pliable tortilla (for burritos etc.) and let the dough sit for at least 10mins (but don't let cool too much.) For the people saying that they broke when rolling for burritos or tacos, you didn't do enough of either of these steps. I sprinkled or dusted my cutting board with flour rolled some dough into a ball and placed some plastic wrap over and rolled out with a rolling pin to get as thin as possible. *tip* for perfectly round tortillas place a bowl of desired size over flattened dough and cut around bowl to remove excess. So easy and great tasting you'll never buy from a store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
So this is what fresh tortillas should taste like! I will make them again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I love mexican food and I always wanted to make my own tortillas and this recipe worke for me thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
simple as it get but taste great!! I let it rest for less than 15 and it still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kylene
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I never thought making homemade tortillas would be so simple! They were perfect and yummy. So easy and delicious that I'm planning to buy a press just to cut down the time. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah Kay
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is the first time I made tortilla. Never imagine I could make my own and it's delicious. I don't have shortening in my kitchen so I substitute with butter. I used non stick skillet and flip the tortilla often for every 2 seconds to make it puffy. I eat my broiled fish topped with roasted tomato wrapped in tortilla for lunch. Yummy! Thanks Chef John for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Another great recipe from Chef John! These were so delicious and so easy. I used my Kitchenaid stand mixer and rolled them out. Let the dough rest for a while and they'll be really to roll. Everyone's right in that we'll never go back to store-bought again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States