Chef John's Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I can't imagine someone not liking these. So easy. I make a quadruple batch and freeze them. I then make a variety of fillings, from a Thai-influenced chicken one that I make up as I go, to a shredded goat taco, to a veggie chili-like dish. Makes for easy dinners when I'm too tired to cook. Thanks for a great recipe! Living in rural Haiti, and for over 12 years I only ate local food (rice daily with some beans and occasionally some pork). Got tired of it, bought a solar powered (batteries) freezer, and loving the time in the kitchen. Heavy cooking every Saturday afternoon. Mesi anvil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jansengirlnm
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I made it exactly... I like my personal recipe a lot more as well as Tortilla II and some of the others....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Ima huge fan of chef johns recipes. And having a latino boyfriend who can't live without his homemade lantio food I decided to learn how to make tortillas. However the first time I made it, I thought I did something wrong cause the texture turned out gummy. I tried to make it one more time. But I got the same results. However they were very tasty.. Might be something I consider when I make pull pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
These were really easy and delicious! The video was really helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This recipe did not work for me. I've made it 3 times and each and every time the tortillas turned out like flat hard disks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe and vegan friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Authentic taste. You have to follow instructions precisely. Knead the dough to prevent flakiness and to get a pliable tortilla (for burritos etc.) and let the dough sit for at least 10mins (but don't let cool too much.) For the people saying that they broke when rolling for burritos or tacos, you didn't do enough of either of these steps. I sprinkled or dusted my cutting board with flour rolled some dough into a ball and placed some plastic wrap over and rolled out with a rolling pin to get as thin as possible. *tip* for perfectly round tortillas place a bowl of desired size over flattened dough and cut around bowl to remove excess. So easy and great tasting you'll never buy from a store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
So this is what fresh tortillas should taste like! I will make them again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I love mexican food and I always wanted to make my own tortillas and this recipe worke for me thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
simple as it get but taste great!! I let it rest for less than 15 and it still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States