Chef John's Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
These were so easy to make and come out perfect. The dough was easy to roll and did not stretch back like other recipes i tried. The only change i made was that I used lard instead of shortening. My hubby loves these and wants me to make these everyday now, haha! These are also pliable! I was able to easily fold these into burritos. Tip: if folding into burrito, do it right away otherwise they will get drier the longer they sit and can break. I had mine covered in a kitchen towel and waited about an hour before serving. They are so much better fresh off the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Chef John, thanks this tortillas recipe is great. I use gold brand and the tortillas come out great I tried others but they come out too dry n not as fluffy even after 2 days I warm them and taste great. Thanks again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
The directions are very helpful and reduced the amount of mess I usually make. Turned out perfect! I tried other tortillas recipes, however, this recipe actually delivers. Dough is very very easy to work with, non-sticky. Very happy. Will keep this recipes. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Made pork chalupas from this site and didn't have tortillas on hand, so my husband and I decided to try making them. These turned out good, and easy to make. We had fun with it. Might try playing around with flavors just to see what we can come up with, but this makes a good tortilla as is. As I was cooking them I kept the finished ones on a plate, with another plate over it, to keep them from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I didn't think there was a snowball's chance in you know where that my tortillas would turn out being my first time making them. I will never buy them again! These were excellent. I don't use shortening so I subbed butter. Did the mixing in my kitchen aid mixer using the dough hook but kneaded by hand. I also rolled them by hand using parchment paper underneath without flour. I was able to get them thin enough no problem. My family was most impressed that they were homemade. This is a keeper! I'm excited to make them again. Thanks again Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I am on a very low sodium diet so I decided to try these since it is impossible for me to find low salt tortillas. I omitted the salt and used salted butter for the vegetable shortening. They tasted awesome, didn't look as pretty as store bought but more practice will help! The dough came together easily and was not sticky and was easy to roll out. New sodium 57 mg per tortilla, will try whole wheat flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This was my first time making tortillas, and I used a food processor rather than mixing by hand ( same method as making biscuit dough). It worked very well and saved time. The texture was good, I did't find them too "doughy" at all, but I was diligent to roll them very, very thin and I think that is probably key in getting a good texture. I think a tortilla press is in my future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Delicious. I used my Kitchen Aid and had no problems. I used a press, but they were too small to make burritos, so I then rolled them out, which then didn't require any flour and went pretty quickly. Totally irrelevant to this recipe per sae, but just thought it might be helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
great taste! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montour, Iowa, USA
Living In: Basalt, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I just tried the recipe and it is so easy and wonderful. I will never use store bought again. Love em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States