Chef John's Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Awesome recipe. I only traded the shortening for the healthier coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Fantastic. Watching the video with Chef John really helps. I rolled out the tortillas and it wasn't too hard .... I got better with practice. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
so good. practice makes perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I literally just finished making a batch. Wow, I didn't realize how easy it is to make home make these, and good too. Only thing I did different was cook these on a medium-low heat, my first one got a little brown on medium-high, it just takes a few seconds longer on medium-low. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I have tried a few different recipes,none of them tasted as flavorful as these.(I know it's flour,shortening,water etc. What could go Wrong? All I know is this recipe is a Keeoer! I served it to my family,friends,guests all with rave reviews. I've made many varieties,even fried them. I used fish,pork,beef,vegetarian,tri-colored beans,retried beans etc. These are so versatile I'm gonna keep on inventing different varieties..... how does roast beef,pickled radishes,tomatillos & an Avacado/horseradish sauce sound?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
These were Amazing! Not buying store bought ever again. Thank you for sharing this wonderful simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ammon Morales
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Sooooooooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Five stars here. I made them as written except used lard since I happened to have some left from another project. I think the rest time is important to give the flour time to incorporate the liquid to it, so don't skip that. I was able to roll them out with a rolling pin very easily. I used my cast iron griddle to make them. I lined the raw tortillas on a sheet of parchment until I rolled them all to cook them. This was my first time to make my own tortillas, so I am a proud new tortilla maker! Thanks, Chef! Again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nadiajc
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Super easy and delicious! Will make again and again, what a difference fresh makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Very good. Very easy to make. I've never made homemade tortillas before. Very easy to roll out. I'd make them bigger next time. Maybe cut recipe into 4 tortillas instead of 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Chef John's Flatbread

See how to turn water and flour into delicious, super-easy flatbread.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States