Chef John's Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Did not care for this recipe the tortillas came out stiff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I really didn't like the taste of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
So I will try again when I have shortening. I used butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
These come out tough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jada1979

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Had the texture of Naan and was gummy. I made exactly as is and each tortilla was about 8" diameter. Will try again just in case it was my fault but I've made several tortilla recipes before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Tried these this morning with poor results. I believe the problem is that the pan was too hot. I got lovely big bubbles, but they burned way before 1 minute. They came out like Naan bread, not tortillas. I tried cooking them for less time, flipping them several times...no good. The last few I lowered the heat to Low, and they came out way better. They really need to be cooked on low heat and only until they're golden. I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Needham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I could not have been more pleased with the outcome of these tortillas. I didn't want to make a run to the store for our breakfast tacos and have been meaning to try this for a while but was a little hesitant. This recipe is so easy and the tortillas are so good! I don't think my family is going to be satisfied with storebought any more. I used butter instead of shortening or lard and just rolled them out with my rolling pin. I used a cast iron gridle with no oil and thy cooked just like the video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This recipe is good, but the cooking time/temp is off. I made dough, and rolled out with a rolling pin (it's really not that bad guys, although I with there was some recommended thickness) and when I put it in the pan (cast iron skillet) it almost immediately smelled of burning flour. I ended up turning the burner to LOW, and following the one min, flip, one min, flip, on min, take out timing. The tortillas put in the pan on med. hi. were burned and very brittle. It could just be that my burner is hotter than his, but I don't think that it would be THAT MUCH of a difference. I will make these again, but on LOW heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Swift

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Couldn't wait to try my hand at homemade tortillas when I saw Chef John's recipe. I followed the directions as stated and rolling these out to the size of a small tortilla was a challenge, the dough kept wanting to shrink on me. They ended up very thin and after being cooked in my cast iron skillet (I only cooked about 30 seconds on each side) they seemed kind of on the dry side and cracked when rolling into taco shape (used for fish tacos). I may try this again and make into 6 tortillas instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I have tried a lot of tortilla recipes and this is a very good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Chef John's Flatbread

See how to turn water and flour into delicious, super-easy flatbread.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States