Chef John's Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Couldn't wait to try my hand at homemade tortillas when I saw Chef John's recipe. I followed the directions as stated and rolling these out to the size of a small tortilla was a challenge, the dough kept wanting to shrink on me. They ended up very thin and after being cooked in my cast iron skillet (I only cooked about 30 seconds on each side) they seemed kind of on the dry side and cracked when rolling into taco shape (used for fish tacos). I may try this again and make into 6 tortillas instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I have tried a lot of tortilla recipes and this is a very good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written and they were deeeelicious. I don't have a tortilla press but they rolled out beautifully. This was my first time...but not my last. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Awesome recipe. I only traded the shortening for the healthier coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Fantastic. Watching the video with Chef John really helps. I rolled out the tortillas and it wasn't too hard .... I got better with practice. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
so good. practice makes perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I literally just finished making a batch. Wow, I didn't realize how easy it is to make home make these, and good too. Only thing I did different was cook these on a medium-low heat, my first one got a little brown on medium-high, it just takes a few seconds longer on medium-low. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I have tried a few different recipes,none of them tasted as flavorful as these.(I know it's flour,shortening,water etc. What could go Wrong? All I know is this recipe is a Keeoer! I served it to my family,friends,guests all with rave reviews. I've made many varieties,even fried them. I used fish,pork,beef,vegetarian,tri-colored beans,retried beans etc. These are so versatile I'm gonna keep on inventing different varieties..... how does roast beef,pickled radishes,tomatillos & an Avacado/horseradish sauce sound?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
These were Amazing! Not buying store bought ever again. Thank you for sharing this wonderful simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ammon Morales
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Sooooooooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States