Chef John's Fisherman's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Can't believe no one else has rated this yet. This was a little time intensive, but so worth it. It tasted restaurant quality - a really good restaurant quality. I have never tried a Chef John recipe that was not absolutely fabulous. I am making this for a gathering this weekend, it is fantastic. I used haddock, by the way. Any white fish would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This was pure comfort food for me. I used Blackened Seafood seasoning to season the bottom of the pan, the fish and added some to the sauce and the potatoes too. I made the spinach and set aside, not everyone in the family likes spinach (silly peeps) so I layered the seasoned fish and the sauce, topped with the potatoes.... reserved some of sauce to mix with the spinach. Cooked the fish at 400 for 25 minutes and then turned on the broiler to brown the top. I had already sprinkled the seafood seasoning on top of the potatoes so it did not take long to brown up. I reheated the spinach with the reserved sauce and spread a layer of that in a shallow plate, topped with the fish and potato casserole. It made a lovely presentation and tasted WONDERFUL. A couple of tips - make sure your fish is fully defrosted and blotted very dry with paper towels prior to seasoning. This can be made with leftover mashed potatoes but re-heat the potatoes prior to layering and baking. There were no leftovers - the pan was licked clean. Good thing I got a picture before dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
OK, tried this tonight and WOW! So much healthier than the fish recipe I have been using. Taste is amazing. I used a tad more lemon juice and 5 small potatoes which was all I had. I'll be sure to make enough potatoes next time. Again, there will soooo be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
5 stars for me! This is great. My husband commented twice, once for the main, then once as a leftover! I had only 1.5 lbs of fish and followed the recipe The sauce and potato was lots, can see why 2lbs fish recommended. Seems one could increase this recipe nicely and still have really moist fish. Most everything is made first, so it is just the fish cooking time. The sauce goes a long way. Really good. A great family meal on its own, also fantastic as a company meal, just add a nice light salad with color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Middsh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Wow! 6 Stars! This was the Ultimate in Comfort Food! Simple, Easy, Delicious. I really can`t rave enough...I`ll be making this again and again and again. Thank You So Much Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison King

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Made this for supper last night. Super easy and delicious. Used frozen chopped spinach and it worked out fine. DH said "You can make this again."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Made this last night for first time and it was awesome. I had leftover mashed potatoes that I added the spices to and used frozen spinach thawed & drained instead of fresh since I didn't have any. My husband loved it so I will be making again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Delicious fish pie with easy to follow directions. Making it again tonight! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was awesome! I used haddock because I prefer it to cod. Next time a little more garlic and lemon. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe. I've made it once as written (except for using tilapia instead) and it was quite good just like that. Since then I've changed a few things for my own personal taste. The things I do different are to continue using tilapia and to include a can of corn with the spinach. It adds a nice sweetness and little crunch to the dish. The other thing I change is adding garlic powder to the potato topping. Being the garlic lover I am I also put at least 4 cloves of garlic (pressed) into the roux (depending on their size). Besides that the only other changes is that I omit lemon as I don't always have lemons on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States