Chef John's Fisherman's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This was pure comfort food for me. I used Blackened Seafood seasoning to season the bottom of the pan, the fish and added some to the sauce and the potatoes too. I made the spinach and set aside, not everyone in the family likes spinach (silly peeps) so I layered the seasoned fish and the sauce, topped with the potatoes.... reserved some of sauce to mix with the spinach. Cooked the fish at 400 for 25 minutes and then turned on the broiler to brown the top. I had already sprinkled the seafood seasoning on top of the potatoes so it did not take long to brown up. I reheated the spinach with the reserved sauce and spread a layer of that in a shallow plate, topped with the fish and potato casserole. It made a lovely presentation and tasted WONDERFUL. A couple of tips - make sure your fish is fully defrosted and blotted very dry with paper towels prior to seasoning. This can be made with leftover mashed potatoes but re-heat the potatoes prior to layering and baking. There were no leftovers - the pan was licked clean. Good thing I got a picture before dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Can't believe no one else has rated this yet. This was a little time intensive, but so worth it. It tasted restaurant quality - a really good restaurant quality. I have never tried a Chef John recipe that was not absolutely fabulous. I am making this for a gathering this weekend, it is fantastic. I used haddock, by the way. Any white fish would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe. I've made it once as written (except for using tilapia instead) and it was quite good just like that. Since then I've changed a few things for my own personal taste. The things I do different are to continue using tilapia and to include a can of corn with the spinach. It adds a nice sweetness and little crunch to the dish. The other thing I change is adding garlic powder to the potato topping. Being the garlic lover I am I also put at least 4 cloves of garlic (pressed) into the roux (depending on their size). Besides that the only other changes is that I omit lemon as I don't always have lemons on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Wow! 6 Stars! This was the Ultimate in Comfort Food! Simple, Easy, Delicious. I really can`t rave enough...I`ll be making this again and again and again. Thank You So Much Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison King

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This recipe was absolutely delicious.once again chef John, you've put up a 6 star recipe. It tastes like a meal served at an upscale seafood restaurant. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Made this for supper last night. Super easy and delicious. Used frozen chopped spinach and it worked out fine. DH said "You can make this again."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I did not care for this. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This is an amazing recipe. Very easy to prepare and so flavorful. When done, it smells so good. I decreased the portions to 2 servings and substituted the cod for sole. Followed everything else as directed. I didn't have any problems with it becoming liquidy as I dried my fish very well and squeezed all moisture out of the spinach. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
When I told my hubby what was going into this dish he was very skeptical, especially since he's not a huge fish fan. He changed his tune after the first bite. I think it tasted even better reheated. I made everything all at once and it took some time but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I really liked this recipe. However, I need some pointers: I followed the recipe to the word. I don't know if I should have somehow tried to blot the cod, as the dish was really soupy after cooking. Tasted great, and I'll make it again (although I will add some cheese to the white sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States