Chef John's Fisherman's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This was a very good recipe, however, I would add more spinach because it just shrinks to nothing. The nutmeg was an interesting taste. This may be user error and my pinch was too big. Given the amount of pots and bowls it took and the lengthly list of ingredients, I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I have never made anything like this before but it looked really good and it was! I enjoyed all the flavors together. I didn't use as much cayenne pepper because I was making it for kids too but just putting the cayenne in the potatoes added just a hint of heat without being over-powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Made this last night for first time and it was awesome. I had leftover mashed potatoes that I added the spices to and used frozen spinach thawed & drained instead of fresh since I didn't have any. My husband loved it so I will be making again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe. I've made it once as written (except for using tilapia instead) and it was quite good just like that. Since then I've changed a few things for my own personal taste. The things I do different are to continue using tilapia and to include a can of corn with the spinach. It adds a nice sweetness and little crunch to the dish. The other thing I change is adding garlic powder to the potato topping. Being the garlic lover I am I also put at least 4 cloves of garlic (pressed) into the roux (depending on their size). Besides that the only other changes is that I omit lemon as I don't always have lemons on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was awesome! I used haddock because I prefer it to cod. Next time a little more garlic and lemon. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
We used ocean perch it was in our fridge. We loved the sauce and spinach. Will make it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Made this for supper last night. Super easy and delicious. Used frozen chopped spinach and it worked out fine. DH said "You can make this again."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
We mashed some cooked carrots in with the potatos and added some dill. For the sauce, we added some diced onion, celery and garlic, seasoning with lemon pepper. We seasoned the fish with more lemon pepper before assembling the casserole. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
It's pretty tasty. I didn't have enough spinach so added some green beans. The sauce is waterier than I expected, and I don't think it needed any cayenne at all. Otherwise, it was flavorful and we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I was wholly unimpressed with this recipe and rather disappointed. It's the first of three recipes that I've tried from Chef John that I didn't enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States