Chef John's Empty Mayo Jar Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Just tried this yesterday and used on a corn salad . . . had no greens. It is wonderful. What a quick and easy dressing that is delicious. Thanks, Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I loved this but didn't have the white wine vinegar. So I substituted tarragon vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Brilliant. I'm accustomed to adding mayo and/or sour cream to salad dressings when I'm in the mood for something creamier ... but for the life of me I never thought to simply transfer them to the mayo jar. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Valerie, - I agree with you and to the two snarky ones, what is this world coming to when there is no compassion! I can never remember what herbs make up "Herbes de Provence" and have to look it up every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Great way to use up what is basically something unusable. One reviewer stated they didn't know what herbs de provence was, and asked for "normal ingredients". This is what's wrong with society today
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Also works with near empty Dijon mustard jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Cut back on the olive oil, added 1-2 teaspoons of dry ranch dressing mix and it was delicious. So many possibilities for making a custom dressing. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was good, and a great use of that last little bit of mayo. I used half the fat mayo, because that's what we always have, and increased the herbs by doubling them. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe. This dressing may be a little tangy for some people, but it was a good ratio of acid to fat for us. Served with a simple salad of Boston lettuce, endive, radicchio, and baby cucumbers. Will definitely make this, or a variation of it, when my mayo jar is next empty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I learned to do this years ago from my parents who were in the depression. I still do it and now I have tried your ingredients and everything worked out perfect. Thanks for giving me a change in pace. 5 STARS 4 U. p.s. I never throw pickle juice away. Also helps to make a great dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARLOLINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Immediately after watching Chef John prepare a dressing with a mayo jar I got mine out of the fridge. I did read the suggested ingredient list, but all I needed to hear was that I could use any dressing; I was able to increase the amount of the half jar of homemade dressing that we love that was in the fridge. Just poured it into the mayo jar, shook it, and poured it back as a creamy version. Frugality at its finest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

See an ingenious way to get every last bit of mayo from the jar.

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States