Chef John's Easy Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I think this is a fantastic Apple pie! I have never used a store bought pie crust but I realise you were only experimenting, and yes you can use any ole apple to make an apple pie, I have tried them all and they all work just fine! I will make this pie again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leatherdale

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Estevan, Saskatchewan, Canada
Photo by ranchwife
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Not sure what went wrong. Maybe it's because I used regular salted butter since that's all I had on hand. But there was no "gooey caramel", just sauce the consistency of broth. Possibly boiling longer would help. Even after 15 extra minutes of cooking, the bottom crust was not done. Too many apples that didn't hold any semblance to pie. It looked great before cutting, and once I made some penuche and poured over the top, it served up like an apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Excellent tasting and easy to make. The first one I made seemed to have too much syrup in it even after cooling. It was not big deal... I just drained the excess and it was fine. This time I didn't use all of the caramelized syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Best Apple Pie I have Tasted. Didn't look like the picture but tasted fantastic. Will definetly use this recipe again tks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tripoli, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Priceless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Excellent recipe. I added lemon and orange essence, due to lack of lemons. I recommend the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Just tried this for the first time; really great recipe, and so easy! I added 2 tablespoons of flour, a dash of nutmeg, and a tablespoon of lemon juice based on the ingredients I saw for another apple pie. That thickened up the juice and gave it a great taste. And I know it was probably inferred (and of course I completely forgot), but next time I'll skin the apple, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
We just finished tasting. The pie tastes amazing! What an easy recipe. We will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Great recipe. The first time I baked this pie the juices were a bit runny for me so the next time I did it I added about 1 TB of flour to the apple mixture and it thickened nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arnette Storey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States