Chef John's Easy Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this recipe today. Used regular butter, splenda instead of sugar, added a lil fresh lemon juice, and also buttered the bottom crust and baked it for about 10 minutes to make sure it was done before adding the rest. my butter mixture wasn't thick it was syrupy but the pie still came out tremendous. .. Great easy quick recipe, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TMYERBURG
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Excellent and easy recipe. I used store bought pie crusts with this recipe and my own pie pan. This is a new favorite. I would not change a thing about the recipe but just added some lemon juice on the apples. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Tried this recipe today; delicious. Used a tad less sugar since I don't like things overly sweet. Came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Awesome!! Quick and easy, will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EVAUGHN69
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
absolutely delicious...this is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EVAUGHN69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is absolutely a keeper! After reading the other reviews I did use about 2 T of flour with the apples to cut down on the potential for the sauce to be too runny. I also didn't use quite all of the caramel sauce and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
It is probably best to use Granny Smith's on this recipe because it can be a little too sweet. We found our "caramel" sauce to be too runny. So I will adjust our recipe. Otherwise Excellent!! I love Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
The taste was excellent. I need to work on the presentation, had trouble with the weaving and criss crossing. Also, my sauce did not thicken. May try flour next time but will definately make it again. It was a hit at our cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Made this for the second time yesterday and it WAS great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is a great recipe! Its so easy and so delicious! I made it for my thanksgiving dinner and people loved it. We had a ready crust but used the already made dough for the cross-top. Just caramelize the sugar, pour it on top, stick in in the oven then vwah-la. Tasty applepie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirleytemple

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States