Chef John's Easy Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Absolutely amazing!! I did add corn starch to help thicken it because stayed alittle watery but it is soooooo good!! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Akroesch
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I have used this for the past two years with my high school special education students and we LOVE it! This year my 5 and 8 year old made two to take to Thanksgiving! Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marybcurlyq
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
So easy and delicious, too!!! I'm glad I came across this recipe. I will definitely make this one again...it's too easy not to! (I did follow the recipe exactly)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I especially loved the idea of the egg wash & the oven at 425 for 15 minuets and 350 for the last. Beautiful!! I especially loved the idea of egg wash and the higher heat of 425 for 15 minuets and lower heat for 30ish minuets. Beautiful!!!! I am excieted to try chef Johns pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was really good. We'd been to an apple orchard in Iowa and had an abundance of Jonathan apples. They were not large, so just measured 6 cups of peeled and sliced. Did not make a lattice for top, but used a lot of cut outs instead. So yummy - of course, it is from Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
The pie was overall very good, if you like to eat pie in bowls. The sauce was very unfortunately runny thought surprisingly the pie crust didn't turn soggy. Next time, I'll probably add some flour and mix the apples with the sauce beforehand. But, it's apple pie. And apple pie is delicious anyway it's cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Perfect and easy. I only subbed golden delicious apples and made a little extra sauce for dripping over the ice cream we served along with it. Mine took 50 minutes after lowering the temperature-probably b/c of the cookie sheet I put underneath to catch the drippy overflow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Easy enough and great! I usually drain the syrup sauce out a little though and it's good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Murdock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Excellent! An easy apple pie to add to your Thanksgiving dessert buffet. Have made this two years in row and received top notch reviews both times. Will be on the table again this year.i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
If you follow the recipe without adding anything, this is hands down a 5 star recipe. I don't like nutmeg or apple pie spice - I'm strictly all about brown sugar and cinnamon when it comes to baking with apples. I know, I'm probably not normal but I like keeping things simple. BTW - this is no means a simple tasting pie! It's delish, no need to add lemon or orange essence (really, who does that to apple pie?) nutmeg or flour. And how simple was it to make by making a syrup and pouring on the pie? Can't get easier than that. The only thing that was hard was peeling the apples and slicing them. Even the hubs liked it considering he's not a an apple pie lover. Don't change a thing, kudos to Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AkikoGurrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Hanover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States