Chef John's Dark Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I made it with Andes mints. Making this was more time consuming than I was used to but the results were fantastic. Jack and Marie loved it! It really does only make 4 dessert cups, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I've made this a few times now and it is delicious!!! I even subbed dark mint chocolate for half the chocolate and that was great too! I will be making this more in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I looked and looked at recipes because I wanted to make something for National Chocolate Mousse Day (April 3) and decided on this one and WOW, it did not disappoint. I added the pepper but only had cayenne and I added strong coffee to the chocolate instead of water. It made for a hint of coffee that did not overpower the chocolate. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Amazing! I've made this several times and it always turns out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This was a lot easier to make than I had assumed. I also found that if I set the fully mixed mousse in the same ice bath I had whipped the cream and cooled the chocolate mix, it set up much more quickly than 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I followed the directions exactly and it was perfect! The video was very helpful! My family was worried, at first, that they wouldn't have enough dessert, but the mousse is so rich, everyone was very satisfied with the amount. We topped ours with whipping cream with a couple of tablespoons of powdered sugar mixed in. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Delicious! And OH, SO EASY! Very elegant and romantic dessert. I'd make it again. Used a dark chocolate candy bar with 77 Percent Cocoa. Also, added a couple of teaspoons of powdered sugar to stabilize the whipped cream and to balance the bitterness of the chocolate. Very happy with the results. Another great recipe from Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Very good and pretty easy to make. I did think the amount/portions were a bit off. I doubled it and if I did really want to serve 8 people, I don't think there would have been quite enough mousse. You definitely don't need a big portion of this though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Love it! I'm a huge fan of dark chocolate and this recipe is fantastic. This was my first attempt at making mousse and I found the video and instructions easy to follow. The mousse held up well to me piping it into individual dessert cups. My fiancé found it to not be sweet enough so maybe next time I'll add sugar to my heavy cream before whipping it. I on the other hand thought it was just right. I used Lindt 70% cocoa, smooth dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dannimachile83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Made this for a potluck dinner--I quadrupled the recipe and served it in a large casserole dish. The dish was practically licked clean by the end of the evening. It was easy to make, and everyone loved it. Even the gluten free folks could enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States