Chef John's Creme Fraiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This is a marvelous recipe! I could put it on almost any food in my fridge! I found the correct cream at Trader Joe's, an organic one, and my buttermilk was by Knudsen. I was just going to make a half a batch but went for the whole thing. Am I ever glad! This is better than sour cream! Creme Fraiche doesn't have the same holding power of sour cream as far as consistency goes, and it's not quite as sour. But delicious it is! I highly recommend that you try this! Thank you, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I will never buy it again I will make it from now on thank you chef John great recipe and yes i made the Stroganoff which was also perfect all I can say is Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Absolutley wonderful recipe!! I cant wait to use this in the Beef Stroganoff recipe on wednesday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEWENCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Very good and super easy. Now I need to figure out what to make with all of the leftover buttermilk!!! My wife accidentally bought low fat cultured buttermilk, so I am not quite sure what it did to the taste, but I thought it tasted great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Collegeville Brent

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Ultra-pasteurized heavy whipping cream works just fine. I use it exclusively and it has never failed to make great Creme Fraiche. Don't waste your time looking for pasteurized. I use Ball canning jars to make this great sour cream in and will never buy another plastic tub of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I made this to go along with Chef John's Beef Stroganoff and it was so easy to make. I have never had creme fraiche before so I didn't know what it was going to taste like. It was thick, creamy, and delicious. I will never buy sour cream again! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tessinstl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
So happy to have found this recipe! My local grocery store doesn't carry creme fraiche, but they always have whipping creme. I made this to go with Chef John's white gazpacho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
The crème fraiche was made exactly as written, and used in conjunction with Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff recipe. We used pasteurized cream, and found it at Whole Foods. One cautionary note . . . pasteurized cream has a fairly short shelf life so the crème fraiche will not last long in the fridge IF any is leftover. This added a special finishing touch to the beef stroganoff and so easy to make. Thank you, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I let it sit on the top of my espresso machine or the top of my refrigerator. It is always warmer in those areas and it just works better than leaving it on the counter top. Maybe I just keep the house a little too cool? LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Dimas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
this was great, love this because it is super easy, and you can simmer/reduce sauces with this unlike sour cream. and it tastes soooo much better! annnnnddddd waaaaayyyy cheaper than creme freiche that you can buy at the fancy dancy grocery stores (if you can find it at all). i used this to make chefs stroganoff and chicken and dumplings, very very rich and delicious. just be sure to be patient and let it set up properly for 48 hours. well worth the wait! tangy goodness! thanks chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States