Chef John's Creme Fraiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This is wonderful....had to rest it on the fireplace mantel to get it to thicken. We live upstate NY and the house is never 70-75*!!! It was worth the wait. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This stuff is stellar! Super easy and super yuumy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Outstanding and never fails! Easiest thing to make ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I've made this four times and two worked out and the other didn't get thick. Same whipping creme brand and same buttermilk...what did I do wrong. I'll rate this 4 stars because it's amazing..so it has to be something I did...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This recipe is the absolute BEST. So easy, and so delicious! Never going to the store for sour cream again. I used ultra-pasteurized heavy whipping cream, since I could not find "pasteurized." Work just fine. Thank you Chef John for this delightful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
stephen i leave my oven light on and it stays nice and toasty.rest of b' milk' any cats around?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Totally works! I use it for all or my sourcream recipes. Milder and more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This is a good recipe although I make mine with equal parts sour cream and heavy (whipping) cream. Mix it well and place in an air tight container and leave on your counter top for 24 hrs then refrigerate. Amazing flavor and texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Thank you, Chef Jon for yet another wonderful recipe. I had never made Creme fraiche before, and was a little skeptical about the mixture actually thickening. I followed your instructions exactly, using the recommended ingredients. The consistency and taste were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I will give this all the stars although I haven't tried it yet, based on other reviews and that it is a Chef John recipe. I would like to try this recipe but I live in Hawaii and the temperature rarely gets down to 70-75 degrees except during the winter months. I actually could make it today but don't have any of the ingredients/supplies needed and work calls. I will try it while it's cooler but what can be done when the weather is too warm?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States