Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This has become a staple in my household. Absolutely fantastic. I used baby bella mushrooms from Costco and sliced them in my food processor in a couple of minutes and then chopped the onion in the food processor. That way the whole prep only took a few minutes. Mine browned nicely within 15 minutes. They still had some juice in the pot but I went on to the next step and feel that it does not make much difference. I used 1% milk instead of cream and processed the soup in my vitamix which made it super creamy. I always eat some the next day as left over and it still tastes great. Only minor thing I don't like is the color but for home made super delicious soup that's easy to make it's well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
very good soup. will make often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This recipe is an outstanding delicious masterpiece when prepared exactly as written. A wonderful flavor and consistency that I never found in any other mushroom soup. I did substitute frozen mushrooms in lieu of fresh which worked out well without affecting anything. The next time I will be using dehydrated mushrooms since I buy fresh in 100lb lots. I also used "Bobs Red Mill" quinoa flour to avoid Frankenfood GMOs. I found the prep and cooking times to be perfect. Chef John really nailed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
My mushroom soup turned very thick and creamy so maybe I shouldn't have used the heavy cream. Otherwise it tasted very good and had a really strong taste so a small portion will be enough and more than fulfilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tirana, Tirana, Albania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
this is a great recipe But if you want to bring out the flavor better add white wine awe man what a delight will use this one from now on with the addition of the white wine everyone that came for dinner wanted seconds of the soup I was afraid they were going to fill up on it as it was just the being of a huge get together with friends... thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Wonderful for mushroom lovers. I like to vary it by using a mix of wild mushrooms such as enoki, shiitake, oyster, and, if I can find them, chanterelles. But if these are unavailable or just too expensive, regular white mushrooms will work just fine. Just before serving, I like to add a tablespoon or two of dry Sherry or Madeira. Again, not a deal breaker, just an enhancement of an already-fine recipe. A small spoon of sour cream make a delicious garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
It was really wonderful-chef John could hold his head high in any of the Spargl Fests I attended faithfully when I lived in Germany. The seasoning was spot on (tho' I'm not a fan of John's 'essence of life'-cayanne. I have to hold waay back when I use it. I've learned that after searing my taste buds with hot pepper in any form, I'll need to skip the dish. This was NOT too hot -sigh- smile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Not tasty, not creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Fist off I LOVE MUSHROOMS so this was a dish I really wanted to try. As far as flavor it didn't disappoint. But, this was more like a 2 hour production, not 1:35, so I took it down a star. It took longer for my mushrooms to cook off the water and caramelize. THANK YOU Chef John for clear and concise instructions otherwise! It WAS very tasty! I loved it, but my family was so-so, their palates being young and not appreciative of the two hours I put into the dish! :/ My only substitution was to use ground thyme instead of the sprigs as I didn't have the fresh thyme. Still worked great. This takes way too long for me to consider using it in place of canned cream of mushroom soup, but on a cold winter night, with cheesy toast and salad it was a wonderful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klfelt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Very good. Right before I served it, I added a couple of teaspoons of quality Balsamic vinegar and it gave it such a wonderful rich flavor. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yerington, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States