Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Great even though I was missing ingredients! I had only baby bellas, none of the spices required, no cheese, and no whipping cream! I used half and half, rosemary as the spice and added more garlic. It didn't thicken up probably because of the half and half, so I added a tsp of cornstarch to a tablespoon of half and half and added that. It thickened after simmering a few minutes, and I used it over linguine. The only thing I couldn't really replace was the parmesan, and that would have made it perfect. Next time I will get all the ingredients-this was good, but I can tell following the recipe would be awesome! But I had a million mushrooms to use NOW-and this was a great use for them, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Made this for the first time last night. It tasted very good but the sauce was thin so I added some sour cream to thicken. Will try it again to see if I did something wrong. Thank you, Chef John. I always like your creations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farmer John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I have made it twice and both time has been delicious. By far one of my favorite pasta dishes I have had ever. I highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by supersofrito

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Would definitely cook again. Did not have sherry or herbs but was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
A little bland, needs more spice for the amount of meat. Pulled the pork shoulder apart when done, broiled to crisp it with a little bourbon and oj to bring out the flavor more. Excellent when completed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Delicious as is. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefmom
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was amazing!!! I wouldn't change anything, I love the mixture of chives, tarragon, and thyme added to the sauce, I had a hard time finding shiitake mushroom so I used regular button mushrooms. It was really good, Will be making this again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Deeeeelicious!! Used portobello mushrooms instead. Added a few extra garlic cloves. Didn't have fresh tarragon & thyme on hand so used a little less in dried form. After drained pasta I put it back into empty warm pot. Just yummy. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
As always, enjoyed! Had to add little bit more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

Creamy Mushroom Pasta

This cream sauce stars two kinds of mushrooms, fresh herbs, and sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States