Chef John's Creamy Blue Cheese Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I made this exactly as described. Grated the frozen blue cheese and it was wonderful. Letting the flavors meld overnight makes a huge difference! I used Costco's Kirkland creamy american blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This was the one I've been looking for...just the right balance of flavors. I made it as a dip for buffalo cauliflower "wings" but it is fantastic on salads too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Grating the blue cheese into the dressing makes a huge difference! This is the best recipe for true blue cheese lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I'm big on blue cheese dressing and don't particularly like the store bought kind (there is one brand that's decent) and I have yet to master the home made variety so I did a search and found this one (I will admit that the fact that he had "Chef" in his name kind of made him a bit more credible to me). Any way, I was surprised by some of the ingredients, mainly the buttermilk and the Worcestershire sauce. The recipe called for frozen blue cheese and although I didn't have any I still shredded what I had and it seemed to work fine (since I love blue cheese I used the entire cube which was 7 oz. and cut some chunks up and put it in there for a more chunkier taste). I let it sit for the 3 hours and took a taste and it is rather tasty. One thing I will do the next time I make it is cut back on the buttermilk amount. I realize that this is a salad dressing however it's a little bit *too* watery for my liking. I will definitely make this again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good blue cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is an awesome, awesome, awesome blue cheese dressing. I used Duke's olive oil mayo, light sour cream, and fat free buttermilk to reduce the calories, but I used regular blue cheese because low fat blue cheese is just WRONG in so many ways! I also splashed in around 1 tsp. of white wine vinegar in it because I always add that to my blue cheese dressing. With these changes I got the calories down to around 135 calories per 1/4 cup serving size. I did not miss any of the fat I cut out! Thank you Chef John for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I have never been a fan of bleu cheese dressing, NEVER! as in, I have been completely grossed out by the concept, the smell, the flavor, everything. After making this, consider me converted. I made this for a holiday family wing-stravaganza, mostly thanks, too, to Chef John's recipes & videos. Seriously, I couldn't be happier... great with wings, the celery & carrot-dipping, great with a wedge salad (with bacon, Chef John! can't forget the bacon!) In this recipe, the freezing and grating of the cheese is key. Thank you, Chef John! You've made my food world bigger and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This dressing/dip is incredible! I made the full recipe w/o the buttermilk then separated the mixed ingredients into separate bowls. That way I could add the right amount of buttermilk to make a dip and a dressing to their proper consistencies. I served the dressing over wedge salads and served the dip with my own version of buffalo wings on NFL conference championship Sunday in January 2014. I also taught my guests Chef John's trick on how to eat a flat wing piece. It was the perfect football meal and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I've been making blue cheese dressing for over 35 years using a recipe I developed. I decided to try this recipe and am truly impressed. This will be my go to blue cheese dressing from now on... I really like the freezing of the blue cheese and grating it into the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Chef John, I have tried a few of your recipes and they never fail to please. This is a fantastic recipe. I followed it exactly except I was in a hurry and did not freeze the cheese. The dressing will be able to sit 6 hours before I serve it tonight with chipotle popcorn chicken. I can definitely see the advantage to freezing the cheese and will do so next time. I like all of the proportions of ingredients that you used they are all in harmony. Thank you for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States