Chef John's Creamy Blue Cheese Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Have been searching for years for a good Blue Cheese Dressing. This one beats my expectations! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saugatuck, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
My husband stomped his feet and said why why do you have to mess with perfection ... I love your blue cheese dressing and I said because I like to try new recipes. It will be fine. He loved it. He said it is quite good and asked for another salad the next night. I can't wait to try it as written because I didn't have buttermilk. I made my own with milk and vinegar. I didn't have a block of blue cheese to grate. I had previously crumbled that I added in. It is really good with my substitutions ... can't wait to try it with the real stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Loved this! Didn't have buttermilk so just used our 1% milk. I loved grating the blue cheese in a little at a time & grating a garlic clove into it. This is a keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menlo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
So good! The only change I made is that I left out th blue cheese and sprinkled it on the salad just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn McGlothin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Excellent recipe! Could use a tad more salt for my taste. But the creaminess and flavor is exactly what I'm looking for in a high quality Bleu Cheese Dressing. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This was the one I've been looking for...just the right balance of flavors. I made it as a dip for buffalo cauliflower "wings" but it is fantastic on salads too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I'm using this for a dip, (for spicy buffalo meatballs) so I skipped the buttermilk. Tastes pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Chef John, I have tried a few of your recipes and they never fail to please. This is a fantastic recipe. I followed it exactly except I was in a hurry and did not freeze the cheese. The dressing will be able to sit 6 hours before I serve it tonight with chipotle popcorn chicken. I can definitely see the advantage to freezing the cheese and will do so next time. I like all of the proportions of ingredients that you used they are all in harmony. Thank you for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This dressing/dip is incredible! I made the full recipe w/o the buttermilk then separated the mixed ingredients into separate bowls. That way I could add the right amount of buttermilk to make a dip and a dressing to their proper consistencies. I served the dressing over wedge salads and served the dip with my own version of buffalo wings on NFL conference championship Sunday in January 2014. I also taught my guests Chef John's trick on how to eat a flat wing piece. It was the perfect football meal and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States