Chef John's Cream of Asparagus Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Just ok for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Virginia Colina
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
LOVE IT! so easy and delicious. i garnished with small pieces of bacon and parmesan and served with crackers. this is one of my favorite soups ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia Colina
Photo by Suz
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Wonderful even though my store was out of heavy cream (gasp), I used half-n-half instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
wonderful consistency and very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
It's a GREAT and beautiful soup but you will definitely need to add more than a pinch of seasoning to taste as stated, especially additional cayenne pepper. I also poured into my Ninja as I don't own an immersion blender. I left off the cream topping but served with the cheese and still a great soup with a side salad. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Personally, my husband likes more pieces of asparagus in his soup so it was my fault to have used the emersion blender a little too long. I thought it was good. I am hoping tomorrow it tastes better. I had to use a little more seasonings as it was rather bland. I don't think my husband will eat anymore unless I put another pound of asparagus in it and leave it in pieces. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
About 20 minutes after this soup finished cooking, it was served and disappointed. Little taste was detected. The single pinch of nutmeg and cayenne faintly hinted something was going on in the background but extremely lame. I probably added 3 pinches of each after taste testing while cooking. It was rated 3* at that juncture. The next day, however, this soup significantly improved, and I would rate it between 4*-5*. The cream topping is the star performer so don’t leave that out, and don’t be shy with the lemon zest (or add a few drops of lemon juice to make it more lemony). In terms of method and saving time, blended this soup in a Vitamix blender which eliminated the immersion blender and mesh strainer steps. This would be a fine, healthy choice if wanting to eat light on a hot summer day or trying to trim a hefty waistline. As Chef John said, it is a gorgeously colored, green soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Wow, I don't think I've ever been the first person to write a review before. I followed the directions except kept adding more and more of all the seasonings to taste. I also added more of the Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese and lemon rind than recipe called for. This was a very nice soup for spring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States