Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
It's ok but not great and not what I'm looking for. Not sure what I'm looking for, just know this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jean Cottongim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Geist
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
YUM! I would recommend doubling the recipe, though. The recipe as written doesn't make very much. I thought I could taste a little too much vanilla as the recipe is written, so while it was mixing in the stand mixer, I threw in two tablespoons of organic peanut butter, and then it tasted like heaven. I am definitely keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Geist

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Negaunee, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! This recipe I would recommend to my friends. I only thing I did was adjust the sweetness of it, thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This cream cheese frosting is wonderful. I think adding the lemon juice gives it a unique flavor. I made a plain box chocolate cake and added the cream cheese frosting. My ten year old granddaughter wanted me to make it for her birthday party and I'm quite sure it was the because of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I followed exactly the recipe and its the yummiest cream cheese frosting ! Chef John gives the best recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This frosting is light, creamy and delicious. My only reason to not give it 5 stars is because I personally like more of a cream cheese taste in my cream cheese frosting. If you prefer a more subtle cream cheese taste, this ones for you. Thank you so much Chef John!! I have several of your recipes in heavy rotation in my kitchen! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Peterson
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This Cream Cheese Frosting is verry yummy! I have been making various cream cheese desserts for years now and this is the first one I have found that can be used on any type of dessert, like carrot cake, cheese cake, desserts withc cheese cake fillings, etc. Do yourself a huge favour and try it, its fail proof!! It's number 1 in my kitchen, and as Chef John said add the confectioner's sugar in increments and you will get just the amount of sweetness/cream cheese balance you want. Thanks Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I like how this recipe emphasizes to keep adding the icing sugar until you reach your own taste preference. It's so true about cream cheese icing! Some like the cheese to come out more while others like it sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was pretty tasty. I doubled the cream cheese and ended up using about 2 cups of powdered sugar. I loved the touch of lemon juice to cut the sweet a bit. Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
excellent! I did use Madagascar Bourbon vanilla paste which measures the same as vanilla extract and the lemon juice. Very nice consistency but you must beat on high for three minutes to get that fluffiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States