Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was pretty tasty. I doubled the cream cheese and ended up using about 2 cups of powdered sugar. I loved the touch of lemon juice to cut the sweet a bit. Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
excellent! I did use Madagascar Bourbon vanilla paste which measures the same as vanilla extract and the lemon juice. Very nice consistency but you must beat on high for three minutes to get that fluffiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is so delicious I can't say enough. I made this recipe with the lemon juice the first time and the second time I used fresh juice from an orange. It is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
very very good exactly what I was looking for perfect blend of sweetness and cream cheese will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windy in calif

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Wonderful! Could actually taste the cream cheese! So good! The consistency was just right too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very good frosting that can be used on different cakes because its so basic & simple. I doubled the recipe and adjusted the sugar to taste for my Lemon Cupcakes, therefore I did not add the optional lemon extract. The cream cheese is definitely more pronounced then the sugar and butter, which is exactly what I wanted. Kudos to the trusty Chef John who wisely points out that the amount of sugar would vary. Other recipes I looked at list a specific amount of sugar which is a no-no for frosting (IMO). It all depends on your preferred taste palette. Of course, the trick is to add a little at a time, taste and repeat. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNicker28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Very tasty and creamy frosting. I'd probably use half the sugar next time, or twice the cream cheese. As written I only got about a cup so double the recipe for a 9" round 2-layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This comes out great and exactly like the video ones. I did everything accordingly. But personally i feel that it is a little too sweet for me. Can lesser the icing sugar to a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States