Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Chef John This was exactly what I was looking for to frost my pumpkin cupcakes!This is a Awesome basic recipe! I just kept adding enough powder sugar to get the right consistency to pipe this icing on my cupcakes! Its super simple and extremely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This cream cheese frosting was really good! I doubled the cream cheese and only used 1 cup of powdered sugar, it was the perfect balance between sweet and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
this was a very good base.. i doubled the cream cheese as suggested by cookinmom.. i only used 1.5 cups of powdered sugar.. it was great over store bought red velvet cake that i doctored up with some chocolate chips.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Not sure what I'm looking for, just know this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC's Culinary Experiences

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Geist
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
YUM! I would recommend doubling the recipe, though. The recipe as written doesn't make very much. I thought I could taste a little too much vanilla as the recipe is written, so while it was mixing in the stand mixer, I threw in two tablespoons of organic peanut butter, and then it tasted like heaven. I am definitely keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Geist

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Negaunee, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! This recipe I would recommend to my friends. I only thing I did was adjust the sweetness of it, thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This cream cheese frosting is wonderful. I think adding the lemon juice gives it a unique flavor. I made a plain box chocolate cake and added the cream cheese frosting. My ten year old granddaughter wanted me to make it for her birthday party and I'm quite sure it was the because of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I followed exactly the recipe and its the yummiest cream cheese frosting ! Chef John gives the best recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This frosting is light, creamy and delicious. My only reason to not give it 5 stars is because I personally like more of a cream cheese taste in my cream cheese frosting. If you prefer a more subtle cream cheese taste, this ones for you. Thank you so much Chef John!! I have several of your recipes in heavy rotation in my kitchen! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Peterson
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This Cream Cheese Frosting is verry yummy! I have been making various cream cheese desserts for years now and this is the first one I have found that can be used on any type of dessert, like carrot cake, cheese cake, desserts withc cheese cake fillings, etc. Do yourself a huge favour and try it, its fail proof!! It's number 1 in my kitchen, and as Chef John said add the confectioner's sugar in increments and you will get just the amount of sweetness/cream cheese balance you want. Thanks Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States