Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
The lemon in this REALLY makes it perfect. I used this frosting on some blue velvet cupcakes for a baby shower. Several other people,brought cupcakes, their cupcakes went untouched and mine were devoured! The only change I made was I used 8 ounces of cream cheese and only about a cup, cup and a half of sugar. Make sure and taste it as you go along! I wanted sweet frosting to compliment the velvet cake, and that's exactly what it did!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha Mae Buhr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Very easy & ummm ummmm good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lu2e
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Simple and tasted amazing with carrot cake I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lu2e

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I needed a frosting for an orange cake, doubled recipe for a full sized cake, one teaspoon orange extract instead of vanilla, orange zest, and orange juice instead of lemon. Exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Hopper Coggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Chef John This was exactly what I was looking for to frost my pumpkin cupcakes!This is a Awesome basic recipe! I just kept adding enough powder sugar to get the right consistency to pipe this icing on my cupcakes! Its super simple and extremely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This cream cheese frosting was really good! I doubled the cream cheese and only used 1 cup of powdered sugar, it was the perfect balance between sweet and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
this was a very good base.. i doubled the cream cheese as suggested by cookinmom.. i only used 1.5 cups of powdered sugar.. it was great over store bought red velvet cake that i doctored up with some chocolate chips.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Not sure what I'm looking for, just know this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC's Culinary Experiences

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Geist
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
YUM! I would recommend doubling the recipe, though. The recipe as written doesn't make very much. I thought I could taste a little too much vanilla as the recipe is written, so while it was mixing in the stand mixer, I threw in two tablespoons of organic peanut butter, and then it tasted like heaven. I am definitely keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Geist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! This recipe I would recommend to my friends. I only thing I did was adjust the sweetness of it, thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cheese Blintzes

These cheese blintzes are fairly simple and so worth the effort.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States