Chef John's Crab-Stuffed Sole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Very good. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Sole was on sale. Only had to buy 4 oz of crab? Was SO easy. Followed the recipe exactly. Guests raved. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sluicepoint
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I made this dish as directed with the following alterations: Haddock instead of sole (whole fillet - huge portions, imagine sole would be more reasonable); Used the stuffing recipe in the Crab Stuffed Haddock recipe (link below); I live in a fishing community and had both fresh snow crab and haddock. The lemon zest mayo added some incredible flavour without overpowering, and the stuffing is nice and light. Will definitely be making again. Note that I had enough stuffing left over after having stuffed 6 fillets to make about a half dozen crab-stuffed mushroom caps (they freeze very well). Will definitely make again. Link for stuffing recipe used: allrecipes.com/Recipe/Crab-Stuffed-Haddock/Detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Thumb&e11=haddock crab&e8=Quick Search&event10=1&e7=Recipe&soid=sr_results_p1i1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Made this recipe last night and WOW! the result was a company worthy dish and although it's quite rich tasting, really the only sinful part is the mayo. I used minced red bell pepper in place of the plobano, because it's what I had on hand. I skipped the last step of piping the mayo mixture on top to save time and just lightly doppled it on. Those were the only changes. We are trying to eat more fish these days and need new and different ways to eat it. If you are lucky enough to live near a Trader Joe's, they stock Dover Sole in the freezer section. I do imagine that this recipe would work with other fish as well. Watching Chef John's video was helpful. As always, Chef John scores another hit. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
"Wow! Thank you honey. This is really good!" That's what my husband said tonight when I served this for supper. It was easy to make and it is so tasty! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I saw this recipe and just had to try it. I'm always looking for new seafood recipes and this one turned out very good. I couldn't find any sole, so I bought 12 oz of flounder. My fillets were maybe a bit bigger than sole, so it made 4 nice sized rolls. I tried to follow the recipe exactly, but I used normal italian bread crumbs because I didn't have any panko. Also, I used canned crab, which I hated to do, but it worked out fine. Because my rolls were a bit larger, I cooked them for around 25 mins. The seasonings for this recipe was delicious. I was afraid of mixing fish, poblano peppers, and cayanne pepper but it tasted great. Just a tiny bit of heat, but certainly not too much. The mayo mixture kept the fish very moist. Next time I'll do everything the same, but will try to find fresh crabmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was really quick and easy to make and turned out delicious. I used canned cocktail shrimp because I didn't have crab meat and I always use cornflake crumbs in place of panko or breadcrumbs. I also added a wee bit of the sauce to the mixture to make it a bit creamy. Loved the results and will make this a regular. Looking forward to trying it with crab next time. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
It was wonderful, even though I Made a booboo. I added the Mayo and zest in the stuffing. So I did make the topping for the rolled filet of sole and sprinkled the top with a little nacho spice. If hearing the guests say mmm, mmm all through the meal was any indication was any indication, I'd say it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Chef John's Miso-Glazed Barramundi

A light, flavorful Asian-inspired glaze for a mild, flakey white fish.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States