Chef John's Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Delicious, especially with the remoulade sauce a la New Orleans, that was suggested on my daily recipes along with the crab cakes. Both served with local sweet corn, and I thought I had died and gone to heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
More breading than my husband likes got this 4 stars. I loved them. I know this sounds strange but take it from a Chesapeake Bay girl- no good crab cake recipe is complete without Worcestershire sauce. Do not leave it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
I will not do this one again. I used canned crab meat which I drained first. I refrigerated it all day while I was at work, but it did not hold together AT ALL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Not a very good crab cake. Being from the Eastern shore of Maryland we only use "FRESH" Blue Claw crabs (Backfin) especially the ones we catch in the Wye river, Do not use salted crackers or add any salt the old Bay has more than enough salt in it. We have been making crab cakes for over 50 years. We do use the crackers but unsalted but we also add, fresh chopped parsley, and to half the mayonnaise sub the rest using ranch dressing or butter milk dressing. We also add sauteed onions (you can use minced) and green pepper in butter and add a dash of hot sauce. We also add fresh lemon juice, fresh ground pepper and a 1/4 tsp hot sweet mustard. Our crab cakes have won many blue ribbon awards at the fairs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
As a crab cake novice, I was confused on which type to use, lump or claw. After a quick google search, lump was found to be the type, it sticks together better and has the desired white coloring. Not a fan of spicy but I used chili pepper for a little kick and subbed in panko for crumbs. Lastly, mine took about 6 minutes a side, for that golden brown. Served with "Goddess" dressing from Trader Joe's. Yum-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAsweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I agree with my fellow Marrylander. Excellent recipe! However not all crab meat is the same. If you can be selective. Too many imports coming in with cheap pricing and very different taste. The best is Maryland blue crab then look for VA, NC, LA and TX. Bon appetite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I love these! Easy to make & the fresh crab taste is wonderful. Now I could only find someone to pick the crab for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Cook it and try it. You will love it. This coming from a transplant from Maryland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Them crab cakes were falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
My kids just came back from Panama City Beach and had crab cakes twice from the famous Captain Anderson's Restaurant there. I made these per the recipe and made them into 6 cakes as I thought the four made for too large cakes, and I was worried about getting them done in the centers. Their response was that they thought as some reviewers have said, that they are good but a bit bland by the one's from Captain Anderson's. I did use canned crab meat because you can't get fresh in Kentucky. Next time I believe I would add more cayenne and maybe more Old Bay. However, with that said, everyone cleaned their plates and they were asking if there were more. So maybe Chef John beat Captain Anderson's by the result of the empty plates? And for those that are having trouble with them falling apart. These are not pancakes to be flipped. Transfer them to the pan with a spatula under them and slide them off into the pan gently. Then when it comes time to turn them, gently turn them over with the spatula underneath and support the patty and hold the uncooked side with your hand or another spoon or spatula and gently turn them. The cooked side will help hold them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States