Chef John's Cottage Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I preferred to mix dry seasonings together, toss the cut potatoes in oil and then sprinkle the mixed seasonings on & toss again. I think the seasonings stuck better, that way. Also, I used a cookie sheet without parchment paper and would do the same again. Timing was right on and they were VERY good and got thumbs up from everyone. Thank you, Chef John for helping my never ending search for new (to me) recipes that are above average!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I liked it. I sliced the potatoes too thin and burned 1/2 my batch - but that was my mistake… You can make them however you want which is kinda fun. I'll make again and slice them thicker next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Kids LOVED these! I ended up adding 1tsp sea salt & 1/2 tsp ground pepper. My husband and son added more salt after but I thought they were perfect. Very easy and VERY tasty! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Fixed these last night for my family and we absolutely loved them! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
We made these to go with a brisket Saturday and my mother-in-law asked us to make them again Sunday for dinner (pulled pork). A big hit to say the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
WOW! Thanks Chef John! I brushed on some bacon fat instead of the olive oil and WOW... it gave these cottage fries a smokey and salty taste.. amazing! We also made the same batch with garlic oil and these were just as great!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencerbrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Easy and very tasty. Just as good as french fries, but better for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My picky 15-year old LOVED these. Will make this a regular at our house now. Thanks Chef John! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
excellent ....when you are tired of potatoes the same old way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Loved these! When my husband says something's good, it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cottage Fries

See how to make excellent oven-baked fries.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States