Chef John's Cottage Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I love these fries I really add on the cayenne because my husband and I like the spice. They are so good and not difficult, just a little time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
The vest cottage fries EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
These are great - I add some good spices and they are perfect! Great with burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
These are amazing crowd favourites and great to make while cooking the burgers on the BBQ. Especially in Winter ;D Spice them up every which way you want. Avoid sugar base seasoning as it will burn before the potato does. I personally use the convection setting of my oven @ 400 degrees. This cooks them a little faster and crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Nice and crispy, very delicious. Simple preparation and overall easy recipe. Just be sure to cut potatoes thick or like others have stated you will have chips instead. Thanks for a great recipe :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I fixed these potatoes last night, and they were very good! My daughter in law and I liked them, and they even got 2 thumbs up from my 2 year old granddaughter! I used spices (recommended by Christina). Thanks Chef John for the recipe. I served them with Baked Parm. Tilapia, (found on this website) and a Spinach Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Chef John is my hero. His recipes are giving me the courage to learn how to cook after a lifetime of carry-out. I made these for my husband last week. I then had to make them the next night, and the night after that. So simple, versatile, and different from routine foods like baked potatoes. Thanks for another great recipe, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Not sure what I did wrong, but these turned out tough and chewy instead of the hoped for crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. Lots of spice is needed to make these flavorful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Love making my own potato chips and this is a good way to change things up. It's also a great base recipe to play with for seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Graves
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
These are very good, but you need to adjust the cooking time. 3/8 inch is a good size to cut the potatoes, but you should only cook them for about 15 minutes on each side, unless you like them super crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cottage Fries

See how to make excellent oven-baked fries.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States