Chef John's Cottage Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
These are amazing crowd favourites and great to make while cooking the burgers on the BBQ. Especially in Winter ;D Spice them up every which way you want. Avoid sugar base seasoning as it will burn before the potato does. I personally use the convection setting of my oven @ 400 degrees. This cooks them a little faster and crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Nice and crispy, very delicious. Simple preparation and overall easy recipe. Just be sure to cut potatoes thick or like others have stated you will have chips instead. Thanks for a great recipe :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I fixed these potatoes last night, and they were very good! My daughter in law and I liked them, and they even got 2 thumbs up from my 2 year old granddaughter! I used spices (recommended by Christina). Thanks Chef John for the recipe. I served them with Baked Parm. Tilapia, (found on this website) and a Spinach Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Chef John is my hero. His recipes are giving me the courage to learn how to cook after a lifetime of carry-out. I made these for my husband last week. I then had to make them the next night, and the night after that. So simple, versatile, and different from routine foods like baked potatoes. Thanks for another great recipe, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Not sure what I did wrong, but these turned out tough and chewy instead of the hoped for crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. Lots of spice is needed to make these flavorful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Love making my own potato chips and this is a good way to change things up. It's also a great base recipe to play with for seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
These are very good, but you need to adjust the cooking time. 3/8 inch is a good size to cut the potatoes, but you should only cook them for about 15 minutes on each side, unless you like them super crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I preferred to mix dry seasonings together, toss the cut potatoes in oil and then sprinkle the mixed seasonings on & toss again. I think the seasonings stuck better, that way. Also, I used a cookie sheet without parchment paper and would do the same again. Timing was right on and they were VERY good and got thumbs up from everyone. Thank you, Chef John for helping my never ending search for new (to me) recipes that are above average!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I liked it. I sliced the potatoes too thin and burned 1/2 my batch - but that was my mistake… You can make them however you want which is kinda fun. I'll make again and slice them thicker next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Kids LOVED these! I ended up adding 1tsp sea salt & 1/2 tsp ground pepper. My husband and son added more salt after but I thought they were perfect. Very easy and VERY tasty! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cottage Fries

See how to make excellent oven-baked fries.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States