Chef John's Cottage Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Hubby gave these 5 stars. He is the potato lover in the family. Nice and crunchy. Mine took just over 45 minutes total - turning every 15 minutes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
These potatoes were great! They only took 45 minutes to make. Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
A delicious little fry and easy to make! I like that these are baked and not fried thus healthier. I baked mine for just shy of 45 min and they turned out good but I think i will leave them in for just a tad longer next time bc I like them really crispy however if you like a more tender fry 45 min seemed about right. 30 min for me was not brown enough but that could be personal taste. these have a hint if spice to them from the cayenne but its subtle however, if you are at all sensitive to spice I would just omit this and they will still be delish. I did use the optiional step shown on the video and place my fries on a rack for the last 10-15 min. liked the added crispness but as CJ said, not a necessary step. This one will me in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Because I was grilling a steak, and because I was feeling somewhat lethargic, I just made these on the grill. I mixed the herbs and pepper with the olive oil for approximately an hour hoping to infuse a little more flavor into the oil before adding in the slices of potato, whether that made any difference - who knows. Also, to give myself a head start, I nuked the potato in the microwave for a few minutes to partially cook it before slicing it. I simply tossed the slices in the olive oil mixture before putting it on a well oiled grill. It made a great side dish with the marinated steak. Good call if I may say so myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
YUM! Love how crispy brown these came out and how you can season them any way you want...I used salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne and Italian seasoning. These took no time to get together and they smelled delicious while baking. I do wish I would've cut mine a bit thicker, but I'll know for next time. I will def be mkaing these often! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Chef John, these potatoes were so good. You are the bomb. :-) The potatoes I had were huge russets. I had to line two large baking sheets with foil to lay them all out flat. I didn't have the herbs suggested. I did 1/2 tsp. salt, and a 1/4 tsp. of pepper, cayenne pepper, Italian seasoning, onion powder, and garlic powder. I pretty much followed the seasoning suggestions of Christina. I might just cut back the amount of black and cayenne pepper I used next time. Mine did take the full hour and I cut them about 1/4". I will more likely make these again. They would go great with some fried fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Very nice. A bit time consuming to turn each time, but worth it. I love crispy potatoes, and you can just keep baking these and turning them until you get the desired consistency. A tad spicy for me, but that's easily resolved by lessening or changing spices. I must say I've never heard of the name of these, but they are good. Definitely slice a tad thick or you will end up with almost like potato chips if you aren't careful. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
These are the best little crispy on the outside, creamy on the inside potatoes I've ever eaten. Amazing! My son and I even loved them so much we made them two nights in a row! I can't wait to make these for the rest of my family. I did three 15 minutes sessions and then put them on the rack for another 10 minutes. Wonderful! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
So simple, so easy, and OHHH SOOOO GOOD. The BEST potatoes I have had in a long time. ntire family of picky eaters are eagerly anticipating the next time I make them. You are awesome Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Very much like french fries, I added lots of spices on mine, they would have been bland without them. Make sure to not slice too thin. Will make these more often now that I've tried them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cottage Fries

See how to make excellent oven-baked fries.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States