Chef John's Cottage Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I played around with the spices somewhat to go with what I enjoyed, but otherwise stuck to the directions. They came out *delicious* and went along great with steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BorealisArt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I found this recipe originally from Chef John's Foodwishes blog a few months ago. The first time I made them, my husband asked me in a rather accusatory tone why I had never made them before--like I'd been hiding something from him for 15 years. I've made them several times since then. They are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
My son wanted to make homemade French fries for the first time & we chose this recipe. We didn't have some of the ingredients so we improvised. We used a little basil, garlic powder, sea salt, coarse black pepper & olive oil. We loved it & they were all eaten up at dinner. A recipe keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Made these using italien herbs, instead herbs de provence, turned out just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
they were okay-somthing different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcfurbrain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gypsum, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
FANTASTIC! Nice change from the same old fries and wedges. Make sure to salt them well. I added some dill to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
These were great! I will make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
These were good but I'm not sure they seemed distinct from any other oven-fried potatoes to me. Though they do have more surface area to brown, which is a plus sometimes. I found flipping them every 15 minutes to be kind of a chore, but they do make a prettier presentation than other oven fries so they're certainly worth it for that. Note: I used a lot more herbes de provence because I don't get enough opportunities to use that blend. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This is my new "go to" potato recipe after I've tired of regular roasted potatoes, twice baked, mashed, etc. I love the flavor of the herbs de provence and the SO said he liked these better then our favorite jojo potatoes at the bar; more flavorful and less greasy. I didn't use the parchment paper and just put it directly on the baking sheet and this turned out fine, albeit messier. I have tried two of Chef John's recipes thus far and intend to go down the list with them as they've both been five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
These were crispy and creamy. Baked for 45 min. I made as written and should have added a bit more cayenne. Easy and a great sub for French Fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cottage Fries

See how to make excellent oven-baked fries.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States