Chef John's Cottage Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I found this recipe originally from Chef John's Foodwishes blog a few months ago. The first time I made them, my husband asked me in a rather accusatory tone why I had never made them before--like I'd been hiding something from him for 15 years. I've made them several times since then. They are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
My son wanted to make homemade French fries for the first time & we chose this recipe. We didn't have some of the ingredients so we improvised. We used a little basil, garlic powder, sea salt, coarse black pepper & olive oil. We loved it & they were all eaten up at dinner. A recipe keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Made these using italien herbs, instead herbs de provence, turned out just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
they were okay-somthing different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcfurbrain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gypsum, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
FANTASTIC! Nice change from the same old fries and wedges. Make sure to salt them well. I added some dill to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
These were great! I will make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
These were good but I'm not sure they seemed distinct from any other oven-fried potatoes to me. Though they do have more surface area to brown, which is a plus sometimes. I found flipping them every 15 minutes to be kind of a chore, but they do make a prettier presentation than other oven fries so they're certainly worth it for that. Note: I used a lot more herbes de provence because I don't get enough opportunities to use that blend. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This is my new "go to" potato recipe after I've tired of regular roasted potatoes, twice baked, mashed, etc. I love the flavor of the herbs de provence and the SO said he liked these better then our favorite jojo potatoes at the bar; more flavorful and less greasy. I didn't use the parchment paper and just put it directly on the baking sheet and this turned out fine, albeit messier. I have tried two of Chef John's recipes thus far and intend to go down the list with them as they've both been five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
These were crispy and creamy. Baked for 45 min. I made as written and should have added a bit more cayenne. Easy and a great sub for French Fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
These have become one of my favorite type of potatoes! this is the first time I have made them, & I just fell in love with them..... Thank you so much for sharing these Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cottage Fries

See how to make excellent oven-baked fries.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States