Chef John's Cottage Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I made these using one large russet potato, sliced 3/8” thick. I seasoned as indicated but I had to skip the herbes de provence, as I didn’t have any. I used a baking sheet lined with non-stick foil. Even though I was leery about the oven time and temp, I proceeded as directed. I only flipped my potatoes once and really don’t see the need to do it more than that. After baking these for 45 minutes, they were nicely browned on both sides. Well I was right about the time and temp. My potatoes were crispy all right, and Hubs liked them that way, but I felt they had completely dried out and didn’t have any creamy center. I can’t imagine what they would have been like if I had baked them for the full hour as instructed in the recipe. If I were to make these again, I would lower the temperature to 400 and bake for about 30 minutes. So 5 stars from Hubs and 3 stars from me = 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Loved these fries, turned out really good. Didn't have herbes de provence and since the video tells you what is in it I just used them from my spice rack except I didn't have the lavender. will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celia Chaput

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I played around with the spices somewhat to go with what I enjoyed, but otherwise stuck to the directions. They came out *delicious* and went along great with steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nora Blansett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I found this recipe originally from Chef John's Foodwishes blog a few months ago. The first time I made them, my husband asked me in a rather accusatory tone why I had never made them before--like I'd been hiding something from him for 15 years. I've made them several times since then. They are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
My son wanted to make homemade French fries for the first time & we chose this recipe. We didn't have some of the ingredients so we improvised. We used a little basil, garlic powder, sea salt, coarse black pepper & olive oil. We loved it & they were all eaten up at dinner. A recipe keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Made these using italien herbs, instead herbs de provence, turned out just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
they were okay-somthing different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcfurbrain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gypsum, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
FANTASTIC! Nice change from the same old fries and wedges. Make sure to salt them well. I added some dill to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
These were great! I will make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
These were good but I'm not sure they seemed distinct from any other oven-fried potatoes to me. Though they do have more surface area to brown, which is a plus sometimes. I found flipping them every 15 minutes to be kind of a chore, but they do make a prettier presentation than other oven fries so they're certainly worth it for that. Note: I used a lot more herbes de provence because I don't get enough opportunities to use that blend. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Cottage Fries

See how to make excellent oven-baked fries.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States