Chef John's Cottage Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Blanched the potatoes and then seasoned them with olive oil, cayenne pepper and french herb salt. It took about 45 minutes for these to cook. Worth the wait. Casual but satisfying. Make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Good, simple, oven potatoes. They came out pretty crispy even after only 30 minutes total. I think the temperature is a bit too high, but they were still tasty and I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Watched recipe and made exactly as directed. These weren't bad, but they weren't great either (sorry). Cooked 15" one side, flipped and cooked 15" other side, placed on rack for final 15". Husband didn't care at all for them - I thought they were okay, but a little on the greasy side. Perhaps I used too much olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
These were pretty good. I cut mine to 1/2 inch and the thickness was to my liking. They definitely need lots of salt and seasoning; I had to use more than the recommended amount. I also had to drizzle mine with olive oil after each turn because they were drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorna
Living In: Riggins, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
dave and hunter give these taters a 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: New River, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
loved these I didn't have herbes de provence but used a garlic herb seasoning. I want to try the other but didn't find it at the store. I'll keep on looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I made these using one large russet potato, sliced 3/8” thick. I seasoned as indicated but I had to skip the herbes de provence, as I didn’t have any. I used a baking sheet lined with non-stick foil. Even though I was leery about the oven time and temp, I proceeded as directed. I only flipped my potatoes once and really don’t see the need to do it more than that. After baking these for 45 minutes, they were nicely browned on both sides. Well I was right about the time and temp. My potatoes were crispy all right, and Hubs liked them that way, but I felt they had completely dried out and didn’t have any creamy center. I can’t imagine what they would have been like if I had baked them for the full hour as instructed in the recipe. If I were to make these again, I would lower the temperature to 400 and bake for about 30 minutes. So 5 stars from Hubs and 3 stars from me = 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Loved these fries, turned out really good. Didn't have herbes de provence and since the video tells you what is in it I just used them from my spice rack except I didn't have the lavender. will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celia Chaput

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I played around with the spices somewhat to go with what I enjoyed, but otherwise stuck to the directions. They came out *delicious* and went along great with steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BorealisArt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cottage Fries

See how to make excellent oven-baked fries.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States