Chef John's Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Chef John, thank you! This was the best corned beef and cabbage I've ever made. Basically I make it once a year for St. Pattys day and I've tried different recipes. They are all kind of similar but I guess the subtle differences make a difference because this was loved by all in my family. Everyone liked it so much that I may just make it again before next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Great recipe as written though next time I may double the salt and add pepper. Also I only used a 2.5 lb. brisket, WAY to small. My wife and I devoured it and now there's plenty of veggies left over, but no corned beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Absolutely wonderful!!!! Loved being able to watch the video. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Over the years, I have tried many different recipes for corned beef and cabbage, but this is the tastiest! Once the potatoes were placed into the pot for cooking, I searched the web for a horseradish sauce recipe since I love boiled potatoes with it. I was happy to find one from Chef John. In my opinion, No need for horseradish on the brisket. It is that good! Using the left over brisket to make his version of Corned Beef Hash for breakfast tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heathins

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Used this recipe for a 3.75 lb brisket...came out perfect! I have only made corned beef one other time, and it was made in the crock-pot. From now on I am using this recipe, on the stove top, and making it more often! The video helped me a great deal as well! Thank you, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Olmsted, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Simple, savory, and a perfect St. Patrick's Day dinner. Chef John, you not only give us the greatest recipes, you more importantly give us confidence! Thank you once again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriBoy Chicago

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacheco, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by vail130
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I just made this corned beef, scaled down to a 2.5lb piece of meat. It's absolutely the best corned beef I've ever had. I live in NYC and am no stranger to Carnegie Deli, Katz's Deli, and 2nd Ave deli, but I would take this corned beef over them any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emb

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States