Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Made it exactly as the recipe was written! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Good but took a long time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I made this the first time and my best friend didn't believe that I cooked this myself. Sheffield John is great I suggest following his blog for extra tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Made exactly as recipe directed...AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I used thin slice sirloin beef for this recipe. I omitted the oil and when I browned the beef. Didn't add white wine since I didn't have any and couldn't find just plain wine white or sherry, and didn't add chives. Used Chef John's recipe for crème fraiche. I marinated the beef slices over night with Montreal steak seasoning. Instead of cooking it on the stove, I used a slow cooker. Cooked it on low for 5 1/2 hours. There was too much liquid after 4 hours. I made a rue hoping it would thicken. It did a little. Served it over rice instead of noodles. It tasted really good. I would make it again with less 1 cup of beef broth in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
After just one bite of this I wanted to lick my plate clean. This is better than brownies. There's a reason it has an unbelievable 5 star average. MAKE IT. It is amazing. Thanks to the reviewer who explained how easy it is to make creme fraiche. I mixed 1 c. cream with 1Tb. buttermilk and left it on the counter for a day and a half and it turned out gorgeous. I have seen the light and will never go back to my lousy hamburger with sour cream and Worcestershire sauce recipe again. (FYI, I used stew meat and cooked it first in the pressure cooker for extremely tender meat.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
It is wrong to say I have a man-crush on Chef John? I am really enjoying the recipes he has listed here! My only "beef" with this recipe is that it lacked the tang I was looking for. I find the creme fraiche just doesn't have the traditional sourness that soured cream brings. It is still a wonderful dish, though. As written, that is why I gave it 4 out of five stars. I made it a second time, and reduced the stock to 1 cup, and used 1.5 cups of soured cream. This was more to my expectations. But again,even as written, this is truly an astounding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This recipe was awesome my grandaughter and all my family loved it. They said it's the best I have ever made. My grandaughter wants me to mske it every week and she asked me to double the receipe. Super good. Better than the Betty Crocker I make all the time. And my husband is picky. He liked this one better. I will always use creme fraiche from now on big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Thank you Chef for this recipe! I didn't have time to cook the "normal" way, so, into the crock pot it all went! for 8 hrs on low, YEAH!! Turned out the best I have EVER made, my family loved it, served over wide buttered noodles and homemade biscuits, YUMMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mello2u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States