Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I cannot afford beef chuck roast right now, I used beef stew meat instead. I also did not have creme fraiche, I used sour cream instead. You could not tell that I used beef stew meat, the meat turned out very tender and juicy. My family all said that this is their favorite stroganoff yet. I served the boys' portions over buttered egg noodles, I ate my portion over steamed garlic broccoli as I'm trying to watch my carb intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
My family loved this! I didn't have time to make creme fraiche so I used sour cream. Next time I would like to make it using the creme fraiche. Don't forget to butter your noodles. This is so much better than my recipe using cream of mushroom soup. Highly recommend! You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I can't believe no one's rated this yet. I've made this a few times and I love it! I buy mushrooms with this in mind. I don't always use exact measurements, but kind of eyeball it. It is soooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is hands down one of the best beef stroganoff recipes I have had in a long time. I did use stew meat and just made sure to brown it good and let it rest a bit and simmered a little longer. Made recipe exactly as written but added an additional 3 Tbs. flour mixed in with some broth to tighten it up a little. The creme fraiche really seals the deal you don't have to go crazy to buy it. If you know you will make this then you can make your own. In a non reactive container mix 1cup heavy cream with 1Tbs of buttermilk or plain yogurt and cover loosely with plastic wrap. Leave out at room temp. around 72 degrees for 24 hours stir once and a while 8 hours or so but not necessary. Warming the cream a little will speed things up a little and it can be used in as little as 12 hours but will not have the consistency you may want. It can go as long as 36 hours I find 24 or so just right. Can be stored in tight container in frige for up to 10 days the cold will stop the fermentation and you Can make ahead. Also great for creamed recipes and potatoes. This recipe is a keeper for sure. I know I will be making it a part of the rotation. Serve over wide egg noodles its great. Be sure to make extra I bumped recipe to ten servings to have some leftovers for lunch you will be glad you did. Reheats well just slow simmer. Happy cooking, GG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Fantastic and very easy. I bought and used the creme fraiche because I wanted to try this just as the Chef wrote it, but I think in the future I will use sour cream. I didn't like the runny consistancy that I got with creme fraiche. The flavor of the dish is absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
OMG this was to die for yes it is that good and I like medium noodles it was awesome like all your recipes I also so made your molten lava cake for after dinner well the hubby would nott stop eating it sohe had no room for dessert and he loves dessert but he loved the stroganoff more I was very suprised the power of meat and noddles and yes I made my own creme fraiche come on people it is so easy to make save your money and make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Fabulous Recipe.. make as written you cant go wrong. Creme Fraiche seals the deal! Cant wait for company to make it again.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagecreeked

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Westbank, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
oh my gosh, i think that i have made this recipe about 4 times now....it is a fantastic dinner and often requested by my picky husband. i usually double the shrooms and onions just because we like a lot of veggies. i DO make my own creme fraiche as chef suggests, it is extremely easy, just consists of cultured buttermilk and heavy whipping cream. you just need to start it 2 days before you will be making the stroganoff. it is so much better than sour cream because you can actually simmer it without seperation and reduce the sauce. well worth the very minimal effort. be patient when browning your mushrooms, because at first they will appear to just be stewing in their own juices, but then, the water evaporates, but the butter does not, and they begin to brown beautifully. it usually takes me about 15 minutes to get to this point. this is a wonderful tip i learned from chef john, before i rushed them and they never got brown....just have to be a bit patient! anyway, served this on hot buttered poppyseed egg noodles (papadelle from trader joes) and a nice pickled cucumber and onion salad. thank for reading :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and I was very disappointed. I've been making the Betty Crocker classic beef stroganoff recipe for years, but thought I whould try a more sophisticated recipe. Well, this is one of those times that I was wrong. Very shallow flavor, I'll go back to Betty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Amazing! Kids loved this. Instead of letting it simmer on the stove, I browned it up & placed in the slowcooker and left for a class. When I got home, I stirred in the creme, turned on the water for the noodles & chopped a salad. Dinner was done in 15 minutes and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Marie Downour

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Grove, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States