Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is soooo good! Made Chef John's crème fraiche a couple days before and used it - followed recipe as written and it was wonderful! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
My husband wanted stroganoff for his birthday dinner and I couldn't just make the condensed soup kind for his birthday. So I found this recipe - SO good! It totally lived up to the 81 (soon to be 82) 5 star ratings that it had! Not too complicated, but it does take an hour of simmering to complete - so make sure you plan accordingly! We'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittny Hansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This recipe reminds me of my grandmas, I love the video it really helped me learn how to get great flavors into this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was gorgeous. But its just missing that final something and I'll be damned if I can figure out what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and served over egg noodles. I loved it! Just keep in mind that it is nothing like the hamburger helper stroganoff you might be use to but it is super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
We definitely love this stroganoff. I have used both the chuck roast and other cuts; it turns out great. I added extra broth instead of the wine, and used about a half cup of sour cream in place of the creme fraiche. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
It turned out pretty salty, not sure why! I followed the directions almost exactly...I used sour cream instead of creme fraiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
This recipe is absolutely fabulous! Don't forget to make your creme fraiche 2 days before you prepare this dish. The creme fraiche is so easy to make and really tops the dish. I'd give this recipe 100 stars if I could..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
The only thing I would suggest to do differently, is to brown the meat in batches. Yes, it's a little more time consuming, but unless you have a really, REAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaally Large skillet, this step as written takes forever to brown, and basically at that point you are steaming your meat, not searing it to get optimum flavor. Other than that, spot on recipe, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I cooked this last night for some friends and they loved it. I will definitely be making it again! The only minor changes I made were to use Sirloin instead of Chuck and I added some Worcestershire Sauce as well as the salt and pepper. I forgot the chives but it was still a great meal. Any negative reviews written about the flavour (or lack thereof) of the dish need to remember to taste the dish before and after adding any seasoning and also taste the dish before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Chef John's Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States