Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Best recipe I've made so far! My husband and I absolutely loved it!!! Definitely will be making this again especially if we have company.. Thank you Chef John :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My family loved this. Substituted sour cream because that's what I had. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
The best :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Very good! The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Have made this a couple time now and it never ceases to amaze! With or without the creme fraiche or sour cream it is still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This recipe is the best I have tried for beef stroganoff, with very minor adjustment. I used beef tenderloin, which cut down on the cooking time; I used heavy cream plus vinegar to substitute for the creme fraiche; I used corn starch to thicken the gravy a bit. Otherwise I used the recipe as directed, serving it over egg noodles.This is an excellent recipe for beef stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
LOVE IT! I used 5lbs of meat, sherry instead of white wine, cream cheese & sour cream instead of creme fraiche (didn't have the ingredients on hand) but will definitely use next time! Prepared all ingredients (amounts adjusted for 5lbs of meat) as directed up until step 5. I put all of the prepped ingredients into my crockpot since I wouldn't be home all day (set it on low for 8hrs). Less than 8 hours it was done. As I was boiling water for EXTRA wide Polish Egg Noodles, I added 8oz MORE of sautéed sliced fresh mushroom (because we LOVE) and then added 8oz of cream cheese in cubes slowly, mixed well, then added another (approx. 4oz) of sour cream, then chives. OMG, out of the park delicious! My family from ages 9 to 55 LOVED this version of Beef Stroganoff (and I have made another version for years). I will definitely make it with the (home made creme fraiche) as listed when I have more time to prepare! LOVE LOVE Chef John and ALL of your recipes. DELISH! My Family and I THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Yum! I'm so glad I followed this recipe instead of one using canned soup, onion soup mix, etc. This turned out delicious and is perfect for the fall/winter time. Like other reviewers, I used stew meat. I chopped it up into smaller pieces since they were quite large. Next time, I'd cut them up even smaller. The white wine is a MUST for flavor and serving it over buttered egg noodles really brings the whole dish together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I use the end cuts of a tenderloin (frequently available and less expensive than the filet steaks) and sour cream for this recipe. Just plain succulent!) Dixie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Amazing! Not only is this very easy to make, it's very good. I usually sub the creme fraiche for sour cream because I always have sour cream on hand. And I'm sure that various cuts of meat would work well. The first time I made this I used cubed, venison tenderloin. It was delicious! I'm so glad that I found a great stroganoff recipe that doesn't use canned ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States