Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This was wonderful. We love Stroganoff and make it often, and this was the best recipe we've found. I used fat free Greek yogurt in place of the creme fraiche. Chef John's recipes are the best. Many thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I have made this twice now. My family LOVES it! I double the sauce recipe because It doesn't quite make enough and because it is just sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
So my husband and I hate mushrooms. I'd like this to be a story of how we learned to love them, but instead I cooked according to directions and after the meat was done cooking, I changed the plan. I poured everything into a colander and drained off all that wonderful liquid (that had the mushrooms in it), pulled out the hunks of meat and put the meat and liquid back into my dutch oven. Then I proceeded with the sour cream and served it over buttered noodles for me and mashed potatoes for the hubby. It was delicious! So even if you don't like mushrooms, do not be afraid of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Delicious. I made exactly as the recipe called for except I had to substitute sour cream for the creme fraiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was pretty good. I accidentally forgot to buy white wine, so I ended up using white wine vinegar instead. That was the only change I made. It was definitely a mistake, but I did not remove the star for that, since I don't think it's right to rate down a recipe if you've made changes. I did not add any extra liquid, though, and the sauce was a little too runny for my taste. I think I might even have used less liquid. I will try it again with actual white wine, but I suspect it will still be too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This recipe was delicious!! I cut the recipe in half which was really silly of me, because I’m already craving for more. I was a little hesitant about make it, because the girlfriend is not a big fan of cooked mushrooms. I even had two thumbs-up from her which surprised me. Followed the recipe, it was somewhat time consuming but the trick is to be patient and let that liquid evaporate and let that meat and mushrooms brown nicely, it is totally worth it. I used stored bought crème fraîche. Next time I’ll take the time to make it. I’ll be cooking a full batch next time and then some, trust me. This one is a keeper. Thanks Chef John! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes thus far. I make this now every two weeks and my family can't get enough. I don't change the recipe at all and it turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this for dinner last night and it was fantastic. even better the next day when I had some for lunch. I did this in my pressure cooker which I cooked the for 30 minutes using stew meet, cut, which i cut into small cube. I had never used creme fraiche, but don't skip. I think this is what makes the meal! Better than using sour cream. I couldn't find it near the cheese or sour creams. It was near the deli, where the imported cheeses were. Thanks Chef Jon for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn Miller Mack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This came out fabulous! Cutting the chuck steak into strips was the hardest part. They browned up beautifully and the sauce was a nice dark rich brown. I used 3 TB flour and it was the perfect consistancy by the end. I tasted for seasoning and it didn't need any addition salt and pepper. I did season the meat quite generously before browning. It did however taste a bit sour so I added about a 1/2 ts. of sugar and that did the trick! The meat was so tender after cooking for about an hour and 15 minutes. No knife needed! My husband raved throughout the entire meal. Served on buttered parmesan egg noodles with cresent rolls on the side. A must try for anyone who loves stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States