Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Better than America's test kitchen's recipe. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was incredible! We used sour cream instead of creme fraiche. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
vernell enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I loved this recipe. I thought it had great flavor and will be making this again! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
For anyone reading this who is fairly new in the kitchen-- don't think you can get away with cutting the cooking time down just because your sauce has thickened. Cuts of meat like chuck roast have to be cooked low and slow and for quite a long time to melt the collagen in the meat. If the collagen doesn't melt, you will left with extremely tough meat and wonder what happened and then give this recipe a low rating. It took me years to discover this fact about meat. Because I was short on time, I made the kid-friendly, faster version: ground beef and diced mushrooms (to camouflage the mushrooms to look like the ground beef) with sour cream and egg noodles stirred in. Using ground beef was nice because it cut my cooking time down by 75%. Both of my girls (2 & 5) gobbled this up and my picky 5-year old was oblivious to the mushrooms. BTW-- I discovered a good way to dice the mushrooms: I used my egg slicer and just turned the mushroom once after the first slice then turned the mushroom on it's side to cut the length. Big time saver and worked great! Thank you, Chef John, for another amazing recipe! I plan to make the written, grown-up version for my next dinner party. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Excellent Stroganoff recipe, very easy, made it as the recipe called for-no need to change a thing. Will make it again for sure. It is now in my reciepe box, it's a keeper. Mona
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Thank you Chef John. With the Creme Fraiche, this recipe turned out wonderful! Everyone was telling me how good it was! I felt like a chef myself! Really awesome!! Thanks again! Can't wait for more of your great recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I used stew meat (the good stuff was too expensive), and sour cream. Otherwise made this exactly as directed. It was delicious. On the second try, when I sliced up the stew meat into smaller little strips, it came out much more tender. Served over buttered whole wheat egg-noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowbuddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Very good stroganoff. The only problem that I had was that it wasn't as thick as I would have liked it. Even added a little more flour. It didn't effect the taste and will still make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Best recipe I've made so far! My husband and I absolutely loved it!!! Definitely will be making this again especially if we have company.. Thank you Chef John :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States