Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
A little fussy but completely worth the time! Made it exactly as is but subbed sour cream in the last step. My husband raves about this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I liked it a lot. Made as is, was very easy to make, Kids seemed to like it, had empty plates,plus one took to work the next day. Will probably make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This 5-star recipe, when followed as prescribed, is OUTSTANDING. I use venison in it every time I cook Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff, and the result is always awesome and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Easy and freakin' delicious. Haven't gone wrong with a Chef John recipe yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Made this last night and omg, it was delicious! It was actually my first time ever having beef stroganoff and I was sold. My husband, who grew up on it made with Cream of Mushroom soup was in heaven. I also used homemade creme fraiche, another of Chef John's recipes, and will never go back to store-bought sour cream again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
We enjoyed this recipe very much although it wasn't as flavorful as other recipes I used. I will, however make it again. It will be something I make about 4-5 times per year. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Awesome!! Although I added green pepper and about twice the garlic. AND I completely forgot to add the creme fraiche (sour cream in my case) before serving. Didn't miss it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was an ok recipe, used sour cream, was hoping for a much richer sauce. One hour cooking time not enough time to tenderize meat. Overall average dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
For a lower carb option - Used just shy of 2 lbs. of chuck. added another 4oz of mushrooms. Used zinfandel because that is what I had in the house. Used 2tsp "Better Than Bouillon" Beef and 2 cups hot water instead of broth. Had half an onion sitting around so this recipe got an onion and a half of small onions chopped. Very tasty. Used a little sea salt and generous amount of ground black pepper. Served over 1/4 cup of cooked brown rice in a portabella mushroom cap. I sauteed the mushroom caps in butter until golden. Used sour cream because it is what was on hand. Tempted to add plain greek yogurt on hand, but skipped it. Next time. Very tasty. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMBER2332
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I made this and I used sour cream instead of cream fraiche and it still came out great. I made it in a crockpot omitted the oil and added about 2 tablespoons more flour and about 1/2 cup more beef stock. I have never made this before but my husband loves beef stroganoff he said so I made it for him. He said it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States