Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
We enjoyed this recipe very much although it wasn't as flavorful as other recipes I used. I will, however make it again. It will be something I make about 4-5 times per year. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Awesome!! Although I added green pepper and about twice the garlic. AND I completely forgot to add the creme fraiche (sour cream in my case) before serving. Didn't miss it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was an ok recipe, used sour cream, was hoping for a much richer sauce. One hour cooking time not enough time to tenderize meat. Overall average dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
For a lower carb option - Used just shy of 2 lbs. of chuck. added another 4oz of mushrooms. Used zinfandel because that is what I had in the house. Used 2tsp "Better Than Bouillon" Beef and 2 cups hot water instead of broth. Had half an onion sitting around so this recipe got an onion and a half of small onions chopped. Very tasty. Used a little sea salt and generous amount of ground black pepper. Served over 1/4 cup of cooked brown rice in a portabella mushroom cap. I sauteed the mushroom caps in butter until golden. Used sour cream because it is what was on hand. Tempted to add plain greek yogurt on hand, but skipped it. Next time. Very tasty. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMBER2332
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I made this and I used sour cream instead of cream fraiche and it still came out great. I made it in a crockpot omitted the oil and added about 2 tablespoons more flour and about 1/2 cup more beef stock. I have never made this before but my husband loves beef stroganoff he said so I made it for him. He said it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I can't believe everyone that rated this recipe failed to mention that the noodle and type used was omitted from the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Tischner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Modified the recipe based on previous reviews and personal preferences. Added more onion / added a flour and water mix to thicken the sauce / used only 1/2 cup sour cream. Would have given it 5 stars if I didn't need to thicken the sauce. Otherwise, great recipe / easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
It was great and everybody liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I've made this a few times and now I always double the recipe so there is a chance we might have some left overs. I made the creme fraiche and it was very tasty. A richer taste than sour cream gives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Excellent! Everything you want Beef Stroganoff to be! I used red wine (the only white I had was very sweet) and used regular sour cream. To speed up cooking a bit, put in less beef broth so you needn't wait so long for the sauce to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States