Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was excellent! Highly recommend. Had never heard of creme fraiche before but it really made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vtfood
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Awesome , my 3 year old liked it . My wife liked it . It was a win win.i will defiantly make this again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I too substituted stew meat for the chuck roast and sour cream for the creme fraiche. The meat was melt in your mouth tender and the only issues I had is that the sauce didn't thicken enough but that was an easy fix. As written this was delicious but I added a generous sprinkle of Hungarian paprika and that put it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I made some substitutions, but it still turned out great. Served with roasted potatoes. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Lick the plate good ! I do thicken mine more than the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jada1979

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
use hamb , sour cream. no chives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Made this for the first time last night and blew hubby away. So delicious!!! A little time consuming, but sooo worth it for the results! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I thought this was very good... I did not have white wine on hand so I used Sangria. I'm going to give it 4 stars because I wasn't blown away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Norcross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I used sour cream because my grocery store doesn't sell creame fresh. This was an awsome dish! My wife put it over semi crunchy steamed cauliflower for a lower calorie dish. Plenty of flavor!!! I am so making this a regular dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Cooked this as written after making the creme fraiche 3 days ago. Has a really great flavor. I halved the recipe as their are only two of us and put up half of that before adding the creme fraiche. I used part of a chuck roast we had left over and it wasn't a good cut or real fresh. I'll use fresh chuck roast next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Chef John's Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States