Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Awesome!! I didn't have white wine so I used chicken broth instead, and sour cream in place of the cream. I also just had one left over steak so I used that. I cooked it whole in the pan with veg. oil, then sliced it and threw it in the last 10 minutes. I also only cooked the sauce for about 30 minutes and it was great!! All my super picky kids loved it and so did my picky husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This was excellent. I used red wine and added more broth. Would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Another great recipe! Followed the recipe exactly with the sour cream subsitution. My little family of three inhaled the entire 3 and a half pounds in one evening... I was sure it would last two day, but it was delicious! My husband swears sprinkling it with chopped dill pickles makes this fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This had great flavor. I used an extra 8oz of mushrooms and used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream or creme fraiche. Note to others: if you're going to do that, make sure you let the sauce cool down a bit first or the yogurt will curdle and give it a grainy texture. I used stew meat and it turned out pretty tough. Not sure what I did wrong. Maybe the simmer was a little too hot. Although there were a few things that went wrong, I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katjanas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I didnt know I could make something so amazing. Plua having a video of Chef Jon cooking it took away a lot of the first time jitters. Still freaked out abit BUT this is a recipe you are in full control of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.E.J.C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Excellent! My picky 11 yr old and very picky 15 yr old both had seconds. Because of the lengthy braising time, it is important to use chuck. Will definitely put on my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was excellent! Highly recommend. Had never heard of creme fraiche before but it really made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vtfood
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Awesome , my 3 year old liked it . My wife liked it . It was a win win.i will defiantly make this again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I too substituted stew meat for the chuck roast and sour cream for the creme fraiche. The meat was melt in your mouth tender and the only issues I had is that the sauce didn't thicken enough but that was an easy fix. As written this was delicious but I added a generous sprinkle of Hungarian paprika and that put it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I made some substitutions, but it still turned out great. Served with roasted potatoes. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States