Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I used sour cream because my grocery store doesn't sell creame fresh. This was an awsome dish! My wife put it over semi crunchy steamed cauliflower for a lower calorie dish. Plenty of flavor!!! I am so making this a regular dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Cooked this as written after making the creme fraiche 3 days ago. Has a really great flavor. I halved the recipe as their are only two of us and put up half of that before adding the creme fraiche. I used part of a chuck roast we had left over and it wasn't a good cut or real fresh. I'll use fresh chuck roast next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was an excellent recipe! Thank you, chef John for passing it on. Even my fussy husband liked it! I found that the recipe, as listed, was enough for two large dinner servings with a lunch portion left over. I made it exactly as listed with the exception of the amount of sour cream. This is a very rich tasting dish and I'm not real crazy about sour cream in recipes. I added only about 1/4 cup and it was a hit all around - for both myself and my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I cut the recipe in half and used ribeye steaks. The meat didn't really get tender enough but the flavor was outstanding in the gravy. I did have to add a bit more beef stock to get a good amount to pour over our mashed potatoes. I'd make this again, perhaps using the baking soda on the meat trick to make it more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I pretty much followed this recipe as written, and it turned out very well! I didn't make my own crème fraiche this time, but Chef John's recipe for that is spectacular! I just didn't have the time. My meat was from Costco, so I didn't have the luxury of having a perfect cut like he did in the video---thus, it took me longer to cook it down, and I added another half cup of broth to keep it going. This was excellent, and our dinner guests found it very delicious, too! Thank you once again, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Used 1/4 Cup of flour and added some dry dill weed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This was by far the best and simplest stroganoff recipe I have ever made with amazing results! I followed the recipe exactly as stated and only added a sprinkle of worcestershire sauce to flavor the meat. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Made it exactly as the recipe was written! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Good but took a long time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States