Chef John's Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mmcsusn
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I made the broth exactly as directed except I forgot the bay leaf. I added the seafood that is available in Baltimore in October..... little neck clams, snow crabs, grouper, mussels and bay scallops. It was very simple but very elegant and tasted like a high priced restaurant cioppino!!! The lemon is a must but a couple of slices goes a long way. I did add some chili oil in addition to the red pepper flakes to wake it up. I have made many cioppino recipes and this was my favorite by far! Crusty sourdough bread is required by law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmcsusn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This may be the single best recipe on Allrecipes.com. It is flawless in its simplicity and as natural in its ingredients as any on this site. The recipe is easily adaptable to your personal taste or to moderate variation of ingredients. I served it in a bowl with a variety of warmed breads and Irish butter. On the side I served Spicy Eggplant over seasoned white rice. The scent of the garlic and Chardonnay rich Cioppino filled the house and I prepped my guests with Starry Night Zinfandel and butter crackers with lobster, red caviar and garnishes. This is a wonderful recipe for a husband-wife or couple to prepare together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This is one of the best recipes here on AR. Chef John, you hit the nail on the head with this one. I followed the recipe exactly beside cutting the recipe in 1/2 for the 2 of us. I used about 1 1/4 lbs of fresh shrimp, 1 large claw of large snow crab, 1/2 lb mussels, and 1/2 lb cod filet, all fresh from Joe Patti's here in Pensacola, FL. We didn't care for the cod fish so when I make it again I'll leave that out and use all mussels, shrimp and crab. It's not cheap but it's truly a treat to be savored more than once in a lifetime. I had this back when I was a teenager and loved it then but just never seemed to have the nerve to make it myself. I am sooo very glad to have found this recipe. I had some fresh french bread for dipping in that lucious sauce. I can't wait to make it again. Thank you again Chef John for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
too sweet & citrus-y for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Very good! It is easy to make, well explained and just very good if you are a seafood lover! It is a little pricey but fun to make and well worth it. And don't forget the bread, it's a must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
It was tough to make a recipe and stick to it, but I only made very small changes to this one. Instead of water I used chicken broth, but only because I needed to use it before it went bad. I also skipped the Dungeness crab, as I wasn't sure how to clean it and wanted to keep things simpler for myself. That being said, this recipe was awesome. Very flavorful and perfect with the fresh baked bread I served it with. I'm fairly sure that the person who said it was too sweet must have used a sweet wine (like a moscato or white Zinfandel), as mine wasn't sweet at all. I used the same Sauvignon blanc that I drink regularly and it turned out great. Not sweet at all. I couldn't find tomato purée at my grocery store, so I bought the tomato sauce that that didn't have any other ingredients than tomato purée and water. Be careful, though. Most tomato sauces had all kinds of extra seasoning added. Read the labels! This was my first time working with live mussels. Make sure you clean the outside of the shells and the easiest way to de-beard them is to use a paring knife to pull the beard against your finger and up out of the shell. Also, if you have any mussels in your bunch that are open and won't close back up that probably means the mussel is dead and you want to discard it. My only regret was that I didn't make a seafood stock from the shrimp I peeled (I bought large shell-on deveined shrimp) to add in place of the chicken stock I used out of necessity. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mona
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Great recipe. Had unexpected dinner guest and a leftover crab so made this. Everyone loved it and it was easy to make. Added a pinch more spices. Didn't have cod so used salmon. Decreased amount of mussels and shrimp and added octopus and clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
CHEF JOHN IS MY MUSE! MY HUSBAND LOVED THIS! THANK YOU FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepgas
Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monei Pennee
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Love this dish!! I tweaked it a little, add Dungeness Crab Claws and Thai Snapper. The rest of the recipe I followed to a T. What an awesome kid friendly dish.. Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monei Pennee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I've been wanting to make this forever and was waiting for a special occasion; the ingredients are on the expensive side. Everyone at the party LOVED it!! This tastes even better the next day! The only change I made to the recipe was replacing the crab with bay scallops since I didn't want anyone to have to deal with the crab shells. Seriously people, I'm new to cooking, and Chef John makes me look like a champ!! Mahalo Chef John!!!! YOU ARE THE BEST!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States