Chef John's Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is another great recipe by Chef John. I have tried other Ciopinno recipes and this is my favourite. Love the lemon and chile peppers! Will make this for my next dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Green-Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
The lemon rind and oregano gave the broth a bitter flavor, so I added a teaspoon of sugar. Used chicken broth in place of water, and also added a teaspoon of fresh thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
It was tough to make a recipe and stick to it, but I only made very small changes to this one. Instead of water I used chicken broth, but only because I needed to use it before it went bad. I also skipped the Dungeness crab, as I wasn't sure how to clean it and wanted to keep things simpler for myself. That being said, this recipe was awesome. Very flavorful and perfect with the fresh baked bread I served it with. I'm fairly sure that the person who said it was too sweet must have used a sweet wine (like a moscato or white Zinfandel), as mine wasn't sweet at all. I used the same Sauvignon blanc that I drink regularly and it turned out great. Not sweet at all. I couldn't find tomato purée at my grocery store, so I bought the tomato sauce that that didn't have any other ingredients than tomato purée and water. Be careful, though. Most tomato sauces had all kinds of extra seasoning added. Read the labels! This was my first time working with live mussels. Make sure you clean the outside of the shells and the easiest way to de-beard them is to use a paring knife to pull the beard against your finger and up out of the shell. Also, if you have any mussels in your bunch that are open and won't close back up that probably means the mussel is dead and you want to discard it. My only regret was that I didn't make a seafood stock from the shrimp I peeled (I bought large shell-on deveined shrimp) to add in place of the chicken stock I used out of necessity. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
CHEF JOHN IS MY MUSE! MY HUSBAND LOVED THIS! THANK YOU FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepgas
Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monei Pennee
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Love this dish!! I tweaked it a little, add Dungeness Crab Claws and Thai Snapper. The rest of the recipe I followed to a T. What an awesome kid friendly dish.. Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monei Pennee

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mona
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Great recipe. Had unexpected dinner guest and a leftover crab so made this. Everyone loved it and it was easy to make. Added a pinch more spices. Didn't have cod so used salmon. Decreased amount of mussels and shrimp and added octopus and clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I've been wanting to make this forever and was waiting for a special occasion; the ingredients are on the expensive side. Everyone at the party LOVED it!! This tastes even better the next day! The only change I made to the recipe was replacing the crab with bay scallops since I didn't want anyone to have to deal with the crab shells. Seriously people, I'm new to cooking, and Chef John makes me look like a champ!! Mahalo Chef John!!!! YOU ARE THE BEST!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Loved it ,I tried a Foodnetwork recipe it was okay but it was missing something. I tried this one with more tomato in it, I just added more puree. It game out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This is one of the best recipes here on AR. Chef John, you hit the nail on the head with this one. I followed the recipe exactly beside cutting the recipe in 1/2 for the 2 of us. I used about 1 1/4 lbs of fresh shrimp, 1 large claw of large snow crab, 1/2 lb mussels, and 1/2 lb cod filet, all fresh from Joe Patti's here in Pensacola, FL. We didn't care for the cod fish so when I make it again I'll leave that out and use all mussels, shrimp and crab. It's not cheap but it's truly a treat to be savored more than once in a lifetime. I had this back when I was a teenager and loved it then but just never seemed to have the nerve to make it myself. I am sooo very glad to have found this recipe. I had some fresh french bread for dipping in that lucious sauce. I can't wait to make it again. Thank you again Chef John for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
The aroma and first bite took me back to San Fransisco, an incredibly grouchy chef and an amazing cioppino. (couldn't find a bay leaf; didn't care). Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Cioppino

See how to make San Francisco's famous seafood stew!

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States