Chef John's Chocolate Mint Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I finally found a more fudgy brownie like have been wanting!! I doubled the recipe and used a 9x13in. pan sprayed with baking spray, I added an extra rounded tbs. cocoa and doubled the vanilla because all I had was imitation. Sometimes I add a little coffee extract. Very good...fudgy but not too gooey, which I don't like. Thanks again Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mander
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Simple, fudgey, thick, dense, chocolatey, delectable and delicious!! My new go to for brownies! I made my icing a little thicker and tinted it green for St.Pattys day, then melted some chocolate and shortening in a double boiler and drizzled on top! Everyone loved them! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Amazing!! I did make a few changes, though. I didn't want to make the frosting, so I put the mint extract directly into the brownie batter instead. I also added 2/3 cup of chocolate chips. The recipe says to use an ungreased pan, but I didn't want to risk that they'd stick, so I greased it anyway. They came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I suck at cooking and baking, but I NEEDED chocolate one night. I made these, minus the mint, and omg, I didn't burn them, they tasted like brownies, and they were soooooo good!!! I may make them again for Superbowl parties I'm going to :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Satisfied my chocolate craving. =) The only difference was i did grease the dish, and i used 1 cup of sugar instead of worrying about the extra 1/8th.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
AMAZING!! So chocolatey & fudgy. I underbaked mine,and let it cook more in the hot pan. That makes it so I don't overcook my brownies till they're dry and crumbly. The brownies aren't too sweet like I thought it would be. Seriously, even my family thinks it isn't too sweet and they have a tongue that rejects sweetness. The cocoa powder really balances the sugar out. Make sure to use a GOOD quality cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This recipedid not turn out for me. It was too gritty. My own husband wouldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I love the brownie without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Chocolaty, dense and super moist. To make sure to get them moist do not bake by time. Set your timer 5 minutes less than recommended and check with a toothpick or bamboo skewer. Continue checking every minute or so until there is barely any batter on them. remove for oven immediately. They will continue to cook a little on the cooling rack. Meaning if they are perfect or cooked in the oven they will be over cooked when cooled. In this case not a moist brownie at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aktifistri
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe made my night!! Just got back from a potluck Christmas dinner at our friends place. After browsing some recipes and tips on making brownies, I decided to make a chewy one instead of another type. I wanted to do my first attempt with a very simple recipe, and I opted this one. Turned out my it was successful. They love it! Some of them wanted to learn how to make it. One of them said that's her first best brownies in town (we live in China)! A compliment and thank to Chef John! :D I accidentally use 2/3 instead of 3/4 cocoa, but like Chef John said, the quality of cocoa is very important to the result - I use brand Fry's from Canada (thanks to my lovely mom-in-law), don't know if that's the best over there but it works great! Didn't have 8x8" baking pan so I used silicone meatloaf pan, and it cooked well evenly - no uncooked part in the middle. I grease the pan with melted butter and didn't have prob at all when taking the brownies out of the pan. Since I use a small convection oven, I set the heat for 150 Celcius instead of 175, so it wasn't over-burnt, but instead of 35 mins it took 45 mins to cook - until the toothpick comes out clean. I'll definitely make it again, my husband loves it! It was finished too quick until I didn't even have a chance to take a picture, next time I'll post it here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aktifistri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States