Chef John's Chocolate Mint Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I thought it best to grease the pan first of all, so I used wilton cake release spray. DId not want to make the icing as these were to sit on the counter at work for 8 hours so I changed the recipe slightly by using mint extract in place of the vanilla. Topped off with a little green powdered sugar. Anything mint works a treat for me! I just love both the basic taste and the texture of this brownie, now that I have this recipe I plan on swopping out the extract to make a variety of different flavors. Planning on trying with orange extract next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
These were good. I am going to make them again, but I will grease the baking dish. I thought "ungreased" was odd, but left it that way. Brownies stuck. The pieces were good though! More brownie like than another recipe I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautifuldayinca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Chocolaty, dense and super moist. To make sure to get them moist do not bake by time. Set your timer 5 minutes less than recommended and check with a toothpick or bamboo skewer. Continue checking every minute or so until there is barely any batter on them. remove for oven immediately. They will continue to cook a little on the cooling rack. Meaning if they are perfect or cooked in the oven they will be over cooked when cooled. In this case not a moist brownie at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aktifistri
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe made my night!! Just got back from a potluck Christmas dinner at our friends place. After browsing some recipes and tips on making brownies, I decided to make a chewy one instead of another type. I wanted to do my first attempt with a very simple recipe, and I opted this one. Turned out my it was successful. They love it! Some of them wanted to learn how to make it. One of them said that's her first best brownies in town (we live in China)! A compliment and thank to Chef John! :D I accidentally use 2/3 instead of 3/4 cocoa, but like Chef John said, the quality of cocoa is very important to the result - I use brand Fry's from Canada (thanks to my lovely mom-in-law), don't know if that's the best over there but it works great! Didn't have 8x8" baking pan so I used silicone meatloaf pan, and it cooked well evenly - no uncooked part in the middle. I grease the pan with melted butter and didn't have prob at all when taking the brownies out of the pan. Since I use a small convection oven, I set the heat for 150 Celcius instead of 175, so it wasn't over-burnt, but instead of 35 mins it took 45 mins to cook - until the toothpick comes out clean. I'll definitely make it again, my husband loves it! It was finished too quick until I didn't even have a chance to take a picture, next time I'll post it here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aktifistri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
turned out real good, excellent and easy to do...did not grease the pan and the brownies came out of the pan with out an issue...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Just ok. They turned out really crumbly, not gooey like I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemamaof1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Yummy!!! Tried this recipe earlier this month, it was super quick and required almost no technique. My little brownie queen loved this and I was so relieved... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Mad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Great brownies! Have never made the frosting, personal preference. But my family and I definitely enjoy the brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Satisfied my chocolate craving. =) The only difference was i did grease the dish, and i used 1 cup of sugar instead of worrying about the extra 1/8th.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Loved it! I accidentally added less milk so the icing wasn't runny, but I liked it that way because it gave a bit of a hard, crispy texture. I took out the brownie upside-down and put the icing on the bottom rather than on the top, seemed much easier to spread since the bottom of the brownie was perfectly smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States