Chef John's Chocolate Mint Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
The mint flavor reminds me of toothpaste. The brownie part was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I just made these earlier this afternoon, to moderate success. Taste-excellent, to me. My problem was with turning out the finished brownies. I let them sit for the minimum 10 minutes. I even used cooking spray on the pan (as I personally was concerned about using a completely ungreased baking pan) & set the timer so I didn't get overly anxious. And 3 pieces/chunks later... But the actual brownies did otherwise come out well for me. I think I will attempt them another time, following the recipe as-is & let them cool longer than the 10 minutes before trying to attempt the "flip". Also, I'm curious about trying the mint extract actually IN the brownie batter, as compared to in an icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
THANK YOU Chef John for getting me out of "the box" with this super easy, amazing brownie recipe! I'll never go back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This is now my go to brownie recipe, its easy and really fudgey and good. I tend to mix up the icing flavors every once in a while, instead of mint extract I have used whisky, lemon and most recently a mint flavoured ganache frosting. Extremely versatile and always a hit. Per usual I substitute the butter for canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I finally found a more fudgy brownie like have been wanting!! I doubled the recipe and used a 9x13in. pan sprayed with baking spray, I added an extra rounded tbs. cocoa and doubled the vanilla because all I had was imitation. Sometimes I add a little coffee extract. Very good...fudgy but not too gooey, which I don't like. Thanks again Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mander
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Simple, fudgey, thick, dense, chocolatey, delectable and delicious!! My new go to for brownies! I made my icing a little thicker and tinted it green for St.Pattys day, then melted some chocolate and shortening in a double boiler and drizzled on top! Everyone loved them! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Amazing!! I did make a few changes, though. I didn't want to make the frosting, so I put the mint extract directly into the brownie batter instead. I also added 2/3 cup of chocolate chips. The recipe says to use an ungreased pan, but I didn't want to risk that they'd stick, so I greased it anyway. They came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I suck at cooking and baking, but I NEEDED chocolate one night. I made these, minus the mint, and omg, I didn't burn them, they tasted like brownies, and they were soooooo good!!! I may make them again for Superbowl parties I'm going to :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasnell76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Satisfied my chocolate craving. =) The only difference was i did grease the dish, and i used 1 cup of sugar instead of worrying about the extra 1/8th.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
AMAZING!! So chocolatey & fudgy. I underbaked mine,and let it cook more in the hot pan. That makes it so I don't overcook my brownies till they're dry and crumbly. The brownies aren't too sweet like I thought it would be. Seriously, even my family thinks it isn't too sweet and they have a tongue that rejects sweetness. The cocoa powder really balances the sugar out. Make sure to use a GOOD quality cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States