Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by itachandra
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I had a similar old recipe which I love, but then I tried to follow this recipe, just change a little bit of the way to melt the chocolate (I melted it on a steamer, beware of the condensation, and just melted it halfway then continue mix the mixture with spoon until completely melted, so it will not be lumpy). I served it in the ramekins, because the top of my cake was cracked, so I thought it will look cool just like that. And I served it with vanilla ice cream, perfect!! If you love chocolate then you'll love this recipe, I for sure will make it again and again. Picture uploaded :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itachandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Photo by ITSWONDERCHICK
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is a great easy recipe. Just a little note. If you are not as strong as John you should definitely use a hand mixer. So that you get the right consistency with your eggs and sugar mix. Mine came out a little flat but I believe that it was because of the consistency of my egg and sugar mixture. It still came out great! Thank you very much John! This turned out to be a great ending to our mother's day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITSWONDERCHICK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Followed the recipe to the dot. Crunchy exterior until you hit the center---dark molten choco delight!!! This recipe is a keeper. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Wonderfully rich! Warning however!! I tried this recipe to test it before I served it to company and made 4. With 4, as the recipe called for, it turned out exactly as expected at 18 minutes in my oven. The next day I adjusted the servings to 12. Instead of the nice cake-like batter I'd got the day before was more brownie batter-like. I baked, as called for 18 minutes and couldn't tell if they were done or not. Of course I can't poke the center with a toothpick, so I was uncertain to know when they were done as they looked OK, but didn't want to bake too long and loose the centers. So I took them out at 18 minutes and let sit for the 15 minutes. When I inverted them onto a plate, they were not done, even though I was able to run a toothpick around the edges and have it be clean. They could have baked 3 or so minutes longer. I then remembered the day before, when I got great results, the edges were JUST starting to pull away from the sides. So if you intend to make larger batches and bake them together, remember to bake a bit longer and watch for those edges, or you may end up with chocolate pudding instead, like I did. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
oh wow!!!! This is unbelievable! My daughter and I were watching MasterChef and they made a chocolate lava cake. I had to make it, so I went to my favorite website! This recipe was so simple and quick. I was amazed. I melted 4 oz of tollhouse chocolate chips with the butter because that was all I had. It tated like the ones I've gotten at a restaurant! My batter was not thick and I'm sure it is because I used my KitchenAid mixer and didn't attempt to mix it by hand. I did not put it in a bag (i just didn't see the point), I did not refrigerate and I didn't cook it in a pan of water. They did none of that on MasterChef :). Why make more work for yourself. Everyone's oven is different, but I cooked them for 11 min. Next time, I will cook it 1 min more. I will definitely be serving this when I have company over for dinner and to make it easier, I will refrigerate the batter so that all I have to do is pop it in the oven when we are finished eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I hate leaving bad reviews, but this just didn't work. I went over the recipe last night 20+ times. I did everything as stated. The batter was so thick, and came out like a brownie. I even took them out at 14 minutes, just because I like things a little under done when it comes to cakes, and cookies. They were still hard, no liquid center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Tried this recipe tonight for dinner. It was fantastic, just like you would get a restaurant. I made 4 of them. My hubby ate 2 right away! Was very easy, though I didn't use the ziplock bag method. I didn't have dark baking chocolate at hand, so I tried it with milk chocolate, it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Outstanding! I made it and I've never made anything as exotic before and it turned out incredible! Thanks for the detailed instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Fantastic! Not too sweet, and not too rich, just right! Make sure to grease the ramekins well, but otherwise, worked out quite well! Highly recommended :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MustangFilly77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made these for me and my Hubby I usse 2 dish instead of 4 and OMG I am a dark chocolate lover and this was totally awsome love them I was looking at my recipes and Chef John is 99% of my recipes he is great keep it up love your cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States