Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I just made these and they turned out wonderful! I ran out of white flour and ended up adding wheat flour. Surprisingly the lava cake came out pretty good. I can probably boast of it being a 'healthier' version :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Hubby and kids love it! Very quick to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I can only say this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I was sorta unorthodox with this. I used Hershey's Dark Kisses. They were fine. I also don't see the need for the piping-with-a-baggie step; I just spooned it in. I'm curious about the need for a water bath, though, and am going to skip it next time. Some of the other reviews about this being overdone in certain ovens made me extra cautious, so I went with 14 minutes. Mine were majorly "molten," so I'll stick with the high-end directions of 18 min. next time. Never the less, everyone devoured them! This is on the menu for Valentine's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I just made this.. was delicious but the only thing is the middle was not melted(lava) .. what could i have done wrong to cause this???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by em905
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
great recipe, really easy to make. I would suggest baking it for a little less than 15 minute, 14 would do he trick if you want a gooey centre. might have just been my oven though. good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this for my friend's birthday and it was a HUGE success! Very easy to make! She had been telling me how nothing recently had satisfied her chocolate craving so I knew I had to make a decadent chocolate cake! This made her chocolate dreams come true! Not even huge chocolate fans were licking their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I'm rating this with 4 stars but mine actually burned a little but it might be my fault. I followed everything in the recipe -- the dough tasted awesome, and from my experience, if the dough of a cake tastes good, it means the cake will turn out to be good too. (That's why I'm giving 4 stars) The only thing I couldn't follow was putting the ramekins in a casserole dish&water. They stayed in the oven for exactly 15 minutes (in the heat recipe ordered), and the result was burnt-ish top, and no liquid chocolate inside. I think the heat needs to be lower than 425F in some ovens and/or the casserole dish part was more important than I thought. SO if you decide to bake this, follow EVERY instruction, and keep an eye on the oven so yours won't burn too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElfS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was good! It is hard to tell when they are done though... Mine was close. The bottom wasn't as done as the sides but the inside was soft like pudding. Great introduction to molten cake baking. I halved the recipe to make two ramekins...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Wonderfully rich! Warning however!! I tried this recipe to test it before I served it to company and made 4. With 4, as the recipe called for, it turned out exactly as expected at 18 minutes in my oven. The next day I adjusted the servings to 12. Instead of the nice cake-like batter I'd got the day before was more brownie batter-like. I baked, as called for 18 minutes and couldn't tell if they were done or not. Of course I can't poke the center with a toothpick, so I was uncertain to know when they were done as they looked OK, but didn't want to bake too long and loose the centers. So I took them out at 18 minutes and let sit for the 15 minutes. When I inverted them onto a plate, they were not done, even though I was able to run a toothpick around the edges and have it be clean. They could have baked 3 or so minutes longer. I then remembered the day before, when I got great results, the edges were JUST starting to pull away from the sides. So if you intend to make larger batches and bake them together, remember to bake a bit longer and watch for those edges, or you may end up with chocolate pudding instead, like I did. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States